Feel the new experience when you win the bet in wild vegas casino. With the advent of the internet, people can play the most exciting games from their home with the help of betfair exchange games sites. Win the best prizes, bonuses in various gaming platform at bingo. American players have found www.udabol.edu.bo/extranjeria/blog/?p=real-money-online-blackjack as an ideal option to participate in gambling and betting events.
 
RSS Feed

Brand new Pink Floyd

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 2.5/5 (2 votes cast)

The Wright 1 label released Pink Floyd Mothers Secrets, a one disc title with a previously uncirculated soundboard recording. 

This fifty-eight minute tape contains five tracks recorded at the Manchester College of Commerce on May 2nd, 1969 and at at Mother’s in Birmingham on April 27th, 1969. 

“Astronomy Domine” is a different mix to the track used on Ummagumma, “Careful With That Axe Eugene” is different than the version used on Ummagumma with a longer introduction and no vocals in the mix.  “Interstellar Overdrive” is pulled from the official release for completeness, “Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun” is a different mix than Ummagumma and “A Saucerful Of Secrets” is the complete Birmingham performance.  Ummagumma uses an edit between this and the Manchester recording. 

Packaged in a cardboard gatefold sleeve, it is amazing to think that forty years after its release these tapes finally surface for the Pink Floyd collector. 

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

Brand new Pink Floyd, 2.5 out of 5 based on 2 ratings

3 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Avatar of gsparaco
    gsparaco says
    August 5, 2009, 3:27 am

    I need to clarify my thoughts. “Intersellar Overdrive” was in fact recorded live for Ummagumma but was never used. This is not the studio version. So we can safely say that the track is an Ummagumma outtake. According to wikipedia: “The band had also recorded a live version of “Interstellar Overdrive” (from The Piper at the Gates of Dawn), intended for placement on side one of the live album. The track was dropped at the last minute, some say to maintain the sound fidelity of the record, but numerous test pressings with the original track list were given to friends of the band, including John Peel.”

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. Avatar of DLee
    DLee says
    August 4, 2009, 7:40 pm

    Interesting. However, “Interstellar Overdrive” is “pulled from the official release for completeness”??? That doesn’t make much sense, and I certainly wouldn’t prefer that to be the case. If completeness is that important, then why not use an “IO” from another live show from approx. the same period instead of using the official studio recording? I can see that one piece of artwork (above) actually says “pulled from official release”, which can actually be interpreted 2 different ways – going by that particular choice of words. Are you sure there isn’t a misinterpretation here? I ask this especially since I can also see that “IO” is listed as being as long as 13:35 in length, but the version on the official Piper at the Gates of Dawn debut album is actually only 9:41. Or maybe the extra 3:54 is due to a tune-up in between the tracks? Either way, it strikes me as rather strange.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Avatar of LedMan
    LedMan says
    August 4, 2009, 9:04 am

    Can’t wait to see and hear this and artwork looks fantastic.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.