RSS Feed

Iron Maiden British Metal Onslaught on Godfather

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 2.8/5 (2 votes cast)

Unique in the annals of unoffical releases, Godfather offers a six-disc Iron Maiden box set containing shows from their early eighties peak British Metal Onslaught (GR BOX 14).

 The three shows originate from England.  The Beast Tames Oxford covers the March 9th, 1982 concert at the Apollo Theatre in Oxford.  

 Brain Damage At Hammersmith covers the May 26th, 1983 show in London.  

And Gaumont Slaves the September 18th, 1984 show in Ipswich.  The box set also comes with a 12 page booklet.  

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

Iron Maiden British Metal Onslaught on Godfather, 2.8 out of 5 based on 2 ratings

9 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Avatar of relayer67
    relayer67 says
    October 5, 2012, 1:26 pm

    I have just gotten my copy, a review is coming…..

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Avatar of zimbo
    zimbo says
    October 5, 2012, 6:53 am

    Not being a major Maiden fan, I still couldn’t resist the temptation and bought this one when I saw it. Not a major fan also means I haven’t clogged up my hearing with loads and loads of other shows on bootlegs. Given this, I have to say that this is simply stellar! I really REALLY enjoy this. The performances are just as breath-taking as I had hoped for – I am sure the super fans will agree – but more importantly, the recordings are fantasic. Clear and seems to pick up all the instruments with enviable clarity.
    I would recommend this to any fan or casual fan.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Avatar of wgpsec
    wgpsec says
    October 3, 2012, 7:04 am

    I have only heard the first set so far but I can honestly say that The Beast Tames Oxford sounds really good.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. Avatar of woodish
    woodish says
    October 1, 2012, 7:38 am

    Anyone listen to this yet? Would like to know how the sound quality is before purchasing, Thanks JP

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Avatar of gig addiction
    September 11, 2012, 10:21 am

    Set list is correct. Bruces words caused all sorts of questions for the Maiden trading community ;-) Basically,the Hammersmith shows had 2 extra songs compared to the main UK tour (as they were recording for possible release) What most people didn’t know & Bruce didn’t help by saying what he did, at a few dates they dropped in one extra song. I’m guessing it was to rehearse the tracks before Hammersmith (They also did the extra songs sometimes during soundchecks ) So, Sheffield got “Wrathchild”,Ipswich got “Murders In The Rue Morgue” ,Leicester got “Children Of the Damned”, Oxford got “Phantom of the Opera” & St Austell got “Die With Your Boots On “

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Avatar of chambau
    chambau says
    September 11, 2012, 8:01 am

    The 1984 show lists MURDERS IN THE RUE MORGUE on the set list. Bruce Dickinson states on the Hammmersmith show – the one from RESSURECTION AT THE HAMMERSMITH, also by GF, that they would play it only in that particular concert. Am I missing anything? Is the set list correct?

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. Avatar of wgpsec
    wgpsec says
    September 11, 2012, 7:17 am

    In my opinion, these are the best years for the band. I have recently been building my Maiden collection so this box set couldn’t have come at a better time. Nice job!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. Avatar of gig addiction
    September 10, 2012, 1:02 pm

    This looks very interesting. No doubt they will use “Smilers” version of Oxford. The Hammersmith recording will probably be from the numerous versions already out there (“Eddies Boys 10 years old” / “Die with your Boots on Pt1 Pt2″. The 84 set will be interesting if this is a “new” unsurfaced recording.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. Avatar of mojopin72
    mojopin72 says
    September 10, 2012, 10:49 am

    The box should contain also the miniature replicas of the official tour programmes from 1982, 1983 & 1984!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.