RSS Feed

new Eric Clapton, Who and Grand Funk Railroad (!)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 2.2/5 (3 votes cast)

Eric Clapton We’re All The Way (Tricone 065/066) features a new audience tape for the well-documented October 7th, 1977 Budokan show. 

Eric Clapton Journey Of Faith (Tricone 067/068) features the December 10th, 1990 Nagoya show.  The label released the same show almost seven years ago on By Your Side (Tricone-009/010), but this new release features a new, previously uncirculated audience recording. 

The Who Forest Hills 1971 (no label) is a four disc title featuring the two shows in Queens, New York on July 29th and July 31st, 1971.

And finally, Grand Funk Railroad Korakuen 1971 (no label) features Korakuen Stadium, Tokyo, Japan July 17th, 1971.

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

new Eric Clapton, Who and Grand Funk Railroad (!), 2.2 out of 5 based on 3 ratings

11 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of pookie
    pookie says
    July 30, 2011, 5:54 pm

    Made me think of so few grand funk silver discs; why are there so few humble pie or quicksilver messenger service silver discs? Bands that on a hot night put on a terrific show!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of pookie
    pookie says
    July 30, 2011, 5:50 pm

    I have a gfr Show of theirs from Atlanta 1970 that is quite good; was hoping this would be equivalent; sadly disappointed.
    Michael

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Profile photo of pookie
    pookie says
    July 30, 2011, 5:48 pm

    I do not usually make such negative remarks about many shows; alas, this grand funk show is nothing more than noise; made me feel as if i put a match to $28; rather disgusting release!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of yenssongs
    yenssongs says
    July 30, 2011, 3:50 pm

    This Grand Funk title has been released just because it is a early japanese gig. Japanese gigs sell well in Japan…

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of gsparaco
    gsparaco says
    July 30, 2011, 2:06 pm

    It’s bizarre that the only Grand Funk Railroad silver released in many years has to be so awful. I really wonder what the manufacturers are thinking? If you’re going to release something by a not-often-booted band, why not use a great sounding tape of a great show with some recognizable hits?

    I know I sound provincial when I say this, but it doesn’t even have “Locomotion” on it. It’s not their only hit, but it is the only song of theirs I know.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. Profile photo of pookie
    pookie says
    July 30, 2011, 1:44 pm

    Went back and TRIED to listen to the new Grand Funk; it must be the absolute worst recording i’ve ever had the misfortune to hear; far worse than the old stones piece-All Rights Reserved; just a heads up for those contemplating purchasing it!
    Michael

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. Profile photo of gsparaco
    gsparaco says
    July 29, 2011, 5:57 pm

    Hey Pookie. Would you like to submit a full review? Just write one and send it in.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. Profile photo of pookie
    pookie says
    July 29, 2011, 5:47 pm

    This Clapton show titled we’re all the way has one of the most intense stormy monday versions i’ve ever heard; i have heard many ec versions of this; all ec collectors will love this show!!
    Michael

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. Profile photo of pookie
    pookie says
    July 29, 2011, 5:25 pm

    On further listening; the Clapton-We’re All the Way show on Tricone is a top of the line audience recording; the performance tight with a blistering version of Badge and Bottle of Red Wine; a must have for the Clapton collector!
    Michael

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  10. Profile photo of pookie
    pookie says
    July 29, 2011, 12:57 pm

    The quality of the Grand Funk is awful-noise;a very poor recording; on thew other hand the Clapton-We’re All the way is an excelent audience !!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  11. Profile photo of LedMan
    LedMan says
    July 17, 2011, 1:29 pm

    Does anyone know if this Grand Funk Railroad is considered a common source? Not too many labels are willing to press their shows and I’m very curious about quality and performance if anyone picks this one up?

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.