RSS Feed

new Godfather

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (1 vote cast)

The Rolling Stones We Got A Good Thing Going (GR 756/757) contains BBC tapes from 1963 to 1965.  Godfather utilize the best available tapes for these sessions. 

Kate Bush The Tour Of Life (GR 758/759) contains the April 10th, 1979 show in Manchester for the first time on CD.

Van Morrison Just Like Way Back In The Days Of Old (GR 760) contains the October 9th, 1970 soundboard from the Fillmore West. 

 Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band The Italian Promise (GR 761/762/763) contains the June 7th, 2012 show in Milan, another legendary three hour performance at San Siro. 

Queen Au Poil! (GR 764/765) is the CD debut of the July 30th, 1986 show in Frejus, France. 

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

new Godfather, 5.0 out of 5 based on 1 rating

8 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Avatar of pookie
    pookie says
    July 12, 2012, 4:17 pm

    The Stones is superb! For the era it is mind blowing. Highly recommended.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
    Report user
  2. Avatar of kads
    kads says
    June 28, 2012, 3:26 pm

    Kate Bush, SPringsteen and especially the new Zep box leave me breathless!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Avatar of yesdays
    yesdays says
    June 27, 2012, 2:51 pm

    Thanks booboo. You are quite right. “Fairy on the Road” (Never Forever) and “Manchester 1979 Complete” (no label) are both CD-Rs, not pressed, silver CDs. I stand corrected.
    The soundboard recording is quite insightful. Over the years, I believe many Kate Bush fans have become familiar and accustomed to the highly polished Hammersmith show and its slick, professional production. This soundboard recording allows listeners to hear what Kate’s live show in 1979 really sounded like.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Avatar of booboo
    booboo says
    June 26, 2012, 11:34 pm

    I believe the Godfather Kate Bush title ..is the first time that it’s been out on silver CD. I think that the other two titles you mentioned are CDR.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Avatar of yesdays
    yesdays says
    June 26, 2012, 2:26 pm

    I believe the Godfather release of the Kate Bush will not be the first time on CD for the April 10, 1979 Manchester show. Audience taping of the show has been out before, originally on vinyl by the Rock Solid Records label. Very recently the soundboard tape has been released on CD as “Fairy on the Road” (Never Forever) and as “Manchester 1979 Complete” (no label). I believe the soundboard recording was derived from the unbroadcast Granada TV “On The Road” film. Nonetheless, Godfather has obviously been hard at work on another batch of exciting new releases. Thanks!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Avatar of importdiscs
    June 26, 2012, 7:50 am

    I really like to the look of the Kate Bush. She’s so hard to find on silver.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. Avatar of bim
    bim says
    June 25, 2012, 2:41 pm

    the van morrison cd soundboard looks great;
    knowing bill graham frequently recorded performances, i wonder if a soundboard also exists of the support act, captain beefheart. is anyone aware of such recordings.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. Avatar of Stuart
    Stuart says
    June 25, 2012, 11:34 am

    The good ‘father continues to leave me poor each month by shipping out some fantastic stuff. There’s not one release this month that I couldn’t find room for in my collection. I’m particularly looking forward to the Stones set to hear how good these recordings can actually get.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.