When you plan your next trip, consider the welcome bonus. betfair exchange games will be good for the players to earn lots of extra money. Enjoy the fantastic 3D graphics and sound at our no hay comentarios: sites and be thrilled by the best features. Enjoy your favorite live roulette game by the help of siyuwu.net/?p=no-deposit-casino application, which remains completely optimized with Android and IOS devices.
 
RSS Feed

New Godfather and Deep Purple

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 2.5/5 (2 votes cast)

A new batch of Godfather titles was announced today…

 

Iron Maiden – Living In The Golden Years (GR 633/634) contains the excellent audience tape from Leicester, UK on October 14, 1986

Black Sabbath – Exstased In Fresno (GR 635) features the November 9, 1976 audience source from the Selland Arena in Fresno, CA.

Led Zeppelin – A Celebration For Being Who You Are (GR 636/637/638) is a three CD set containing a mix of the audience and soundboard sources from Kezar Stadium in San Francisco, CA on June 2, 1973. This set includes an 8-page booklet.

…and for the first time on CD, Bob Dylan – Roman Holiday (GR 639/640) presents the Rome, Italy show from July 5, 1998 in what is being called superb sound quality.

U2 – Live From The Mother City (GR 641/642) is an FM broadcast from Cape Town, South Africa on February 18, 2011. This will also include a 4-page booklet.

…and on DVD from Apocalypse Sound comes Jimi Hendrix – TV Experience (AS 201). This collects various television and live appearances from 1967 – 1969.

…also announced today are two new Deep Purple titles on the Darker Than Blue label. Master Of Blue Light (Darker Than Blue 106/107) is sourced from a stereo soundboard from Cologne, Germany on February 8, 1987 in what is being called upgraded sound.

…and finally Deep Purple – Battle Master (Darker Than Blue 113/114) another reported stereo soundboard upgrade from Milan, Italy on September 26, 1993.

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

New Godfather and Deep Purple, 2.5 out of 5 based on 2 ratings

16 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of gsparaco
    gsparaco says
    May 17, 2011, 6:33 pm

    Cliff is working on a review of the Sabbath release. It hopefully will be posted soon. I can tell you that it is a very good and clear audience recording.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. Profile photo of chambau
    chambau says
    May 17, 2011, 6:17 pm

    Did anyone get the Sabbath release? If so, how does it sound? I love Technical Ecstase and I’m dying to get this title.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Profile photo of aleebee
    aleebee says
    May 9, 2011, 6:10 am

    Hi Robert/ folks, I don’t know from what file-source the Sabbath Montreux come. If you wanted just one, I’d perhaps go for the No Label ‘Montreux 1970′. However, you’d not be unhappy with either, I’m sure. It is amazing how these marvellous tapes still occasionally surface.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of gsparaco
    gsparaco says
    May 6, 2011, 3:09 pm

    Yes, there will be reviews of all of the Godfather releases posted shortly.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. Profile photo of chambau
    chambau says
    May 6, 2011, 3:04 pm

    Is anyone planning on reviewing both the Maiden and Sabbath sets?

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Profile photo of Argenteum Astrum
    May 6, 2011, 5:25 am

    I am after newest Led Zeppelin title and I have to say that thi is a huge (at least for me) improvement over few past titles, such as “Mary Kezar” (Wendy) or “Imperial Kezar” (Electric Magic). The sound isn’t amplified, the speed/pitch seems to be corrected and splice between audience and soundboard are done in a truly perfect way, not missing any note from actual show!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. Profile photo of robert green
    May 5, 2011, 1:19 pm

    Thanks so much aleebee! You are the man! Exactly the info I was looking for. I’ve heard the show (which is for sure a ‘must have’) but I haven’t purchased either title yet. Which one would you go for given that you own both? And what are the demos like on the Bondage title? When this show was first discovered, I also heard that the only source was lossy mp3’s. Any ideas on that? i.e. are either of these titles mp3 sourced?

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. Profile photo of aleebee
    aleebee says
    May 5, 2011, 11:51 am

    Re your Q, Robert, Bondage’s version wasn’t far behind the No Label release – I ordered as soon as I saw it listed and got both titles in the same order. The Bondage is mastered ‘louder’, displaying more clipping on Audacity, and sounding slightly the rougher of the two, but both sound great. There is a slight dip in the volume of the No Label after Iommi’s first play of the intro, no dout as the taper adjusted the recording level, but Bondage seem to have levelled this out. I have been collecting Sabbath boots since 1987, and this is definitely one of the ‘must haves’.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. Profile photo of aleebee
    aleebee says
    May 5, 2011, 11:19 am

    I presume DTB are saying that ‘Battle Master’ is an upgrade to their previous ‘Lost Milan Tape 1993′ (DTB 010/011), which I got some 5yrs ago. Myself, I think I’d need to hear ‘Battle Msaster’ first, before I consider buying, as ‘Lost Milan’ is terrific, with all the instruments nice and clear. A cut or two, some distortion (eg Gillan’s screaming in ‘Child In Time’), and that truncated ‘Smoke’ are the only minus points. I also think ‘Lost Milan 1993′ has the better artwork, having seenn front and back of ‘Battle Master’.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  10. Profile photo of Anansanity
    Anansanity says
    May 5, 2011, 12:18 am

    Really looking forward to hearing the Maiden title. I wonder if the Godfather tracked down the master tape or just tweaked the Langley release?

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  11. Profile photo of chambau
    chambau says
    May 4, 2011, 3:50 pm

    I got the Sabbath Montreux 1970 a week ago and loved it. These new Maiden and Sabbath are in my wish list as well. They look promising to me.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  12. Profile photo of robert green
    May 4, 2011, 9:22 am

    The new 1970 Montreux SBD is a great Sabbath discovery. I saw that Bondage has finally released their version of it with a couple bonus demos from 1969 ‘Discovery Of Madness’ [Bondage Music BON353]. I wonder if anyone knows how the no label release compares to this new Bondage title? Or will there be a CMR review?

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  13. Profile photo of wgpsec
    wgpsec says
    May 3, 2011, 7:13 pm

    chambau, I honestly never heard the older sources but I can say that I thought the sound quality was better than average, even for soundboards. Yes Robert, I am looking forward to the Sabbath myself. I decided to re-visit some of my roots and picked up the recent no label “Montreux 1970″ and was very pleased.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  14. Profile photo of robert green
    May 3, 2011, 6:37 pm

    I’m personally more interested in the Iron Maiden & Sabbath releases…. very cool. I’m sure they’ll be solid.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  15. Profile photo of chambau
    chambau says
    May 3, 2011, 6:20 pm

    wgpsec, do you consider both important upgrades to the older releases? I remember listening to them long ago and they had several cuts and sound was just average, considering being from the soundboard.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  16. Profile photo of wgpsec
    wgpsec says
    May 3, 2011, 11:13 am

    I probably won’t have the time to review these Darker Than Blue titles but wanted to let anybody interested in them know that both of these sound excellent. Master Of Blue Light uses the audience source to complete “Child In Time” as well as for most of the the encores and Battle Master is an uncut soundboard with the exception of “Smoke On The Water” which unfortunately ends rather abruptly.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.