RSS Feed

new Rainbow…

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 2.8/5 (2 votes cast)

Rising Arrow have two new Rainbow releases coming out.  Rising Falls (Rising Arrow-046) contains the December 16th, 1976 evening show at the Budokan.

Epilogue (Rising Arrow-047) covers the Budokan show on February 3rd, 1978.

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

new Rainbow..., 2.8 out of 5 based on 2 ratings

5 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of aleebee
    aleebee says
    July 4, 2012, 6:30 pm

    ‘Epilogue’ is, possibly, a SB, as there is very little crowd input. If it IS a SB, it is one of those slightly muffled ones, possibly down to the generation of tape used for this issue. The SQ is not as in-your-ear as Mr Peach’s recording, issued as ‘Who Has Seen The Rainbow’ on Tarantura. The crowd certainly make themselves heard on Mr Peach’s recording, although not intrusively so. I believe the tapes to be different sources – can anyone confirm this?

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of Hager
    Hager says
    July 9, 2011, 6:23 pm

    Personally, any Rainbow show from Japan in the 1970’s/early 1980’s will be best experienced through a Mr. Peach recording. And I believe that they were pretty much all recorded by him. Because neither of these releases is sourced from a Peach, and we know who releases them exclusively, these titles are of no interest to me.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Profile photo of gsparaco
    gsparaco says
    July 8, 2011, 11:07 am

    I seriously doubt there will be reviews of these two titles. I’m not sure what the other writers are planning.

    My personal rule is: if there is any doubt, then don’t spend the money. I feel it is much better to not spend on something that might be potentially great than to spend money on something that is complete garbage. You can always track titles down at a later date, sooner or later, if you think you’ve missed out on a gem.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. Profile photo of aleebee
    aleebee says
    July 8, 2011, 9:58 am

    As you may recall from my other posts, I no longer feel we can automatically trust the ‘Truly Perfects’ and ‘Amazings’ of these releases, although some undoubtedly shall be so. The Dec 16th evening show (aud) has been released before as 2CD End Of Rising (Darker Than Blue 041/042), and 2CD When Evening Falls (Rising Arrow-007). I’m pretty sure the DTB release came after the RA, although I preferred the less hissy sound of the RA. There has also been 3 SB songs, released on ‘Soundboard Archives 1976′ (DTB 077/078). I may get this release, I may not. I mean, I WANT to, but they don’t come cheap, and when it may not be an upgrade…

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of chambau
    chambau says
    June 28, 2011, 2:27 pm

    Lighthouse says both have TRULY PERFECT SOUND. Does anybody plan on reviewing them?

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.