RSS Feed

New releases

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 2.5/5 (2 votes cast)

Tarantura has released three new titles this week.  George Harrison with Eric Clapton Legends In The Material World is a three disc set with the December 17th, 1991 Tokyo show from a new tape source together with a bonus disc interesting material. 

Perhaps Tarantura’s most interesting release, Moody Blues Cosmic Factory is an audience tape with the January 18th, 1974 show in Budokan, Tokyo.  There haven’t been many Moody Blues silvers released and this promises to be a great release for progressive rock fans. 

Led Zeppelin Walk Don’t Run is a four disc box set with Zeppelin’s two Los Angeles shows in 1971.

Queen Mr. Fahrenheit on Wardour is a two disc audience recording of the April 28th, 1979 show in Nagoya.  This label has covered the Killers tour in Japan fairly well and this will rank up there with the other great releases. 

And since we’ve been discussing Pink Floyd’s Wall shows in New York, Sigma offer a four disc set called Your Favorite Disguise.  This has the February 26th and February 28th, 1980 Nassau Coliseum shows in an awesome looking package.  And I’m sure Plomerus will be over this like white on rice and let’s hope this is the definitive edition of the mind blowing February 28th tape. 

 

 

Thinman return with two 3CD sets from when Dylan “suddenly shifted gears.”  Someone’s Distant Cry captures two shows from February, 1999.  The first concert is from Stabler Arena at Lehigh University in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA February 18, 1999 and the second is from the following night, several hours north at the Broome County Arena in Binghampton on February 19th.

Up And Down The Neon Block is another 3CD that has three shows:  March 1st, 1999 at the Rio Suite Hotel And Casino in Las Vegas, March 2nd at the Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino in Las Vegas, and bonus tracks from the July 31st show at Jones Beach on Long Island. 

And finally, Pink Floyd U.S. Wall is a one DVD title with the Nassau Coliseum show on February 27th, 1980 in what promises to be the best available quality. 

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

New releases, 2.5 out of 5 based on 2 ratings

5 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Avatar of Plomerus
    Plomerus says
    October 7, 2008, 9:30 pm

    Might as well throw in the July 3rd, 1977 for the classic Roger Waters commentary too…and DLee, I assure you, if Sigma isn’t listening, someone else is! I’m dying for that KQED too!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Avatar of DLee
    DLee says
    October 7, 2008, 4:09 pm

    I sure hope that Sigma does indeed read this site, but as much work that goes into producing & releasing a title, they must have had work on their “Your Favourite Disguise” already well in progress before the discussion here about the 2/28/80 show occurred, as it was only less than 2 days before the actual release, or at least the announcement of the release. If Sigma does in fact read this site, then what ever happened to the recently surfaced upgrades of the Santa Monica 1970-05-01 and/or KQED 1970-04-30 shows that I mentioned a couple months ago and have been eagerly awaiting ever since? And if they indeed read this site, then hopefully they’ll take note that in my personal opinion a definitive version of the Madison Square Garden show of July 4th, ’77 could be a great idea.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Avatar of tmoq
    tmoq says
    October 7, 2008, 6:28 am

    Wasn’t sure where to write this, but I had a few minutes at work to do some searches on the site and clicked on a Bowie DVD review to read.
    Now, as much as I appreciate this wonderful site (and yes, I have contributed $ in the past); I do have a complaint. There was a pop-up ad for the sci-fi channel over the part of the text of the review making it impossible to read part of the review! There wasn’t anywhere to “click” on to get rid of the ad.
    If the primary reason is to read reviews but they are partially obscured-then, what’s the point? Thanks for your time

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Avatar of gsparaco
    gsparaco says
    October 6, 2008, 7:17 pm

    Isn’t it ironic (to quote Alanis Morisette). I bet Sigma read this site, but too bad they do not provide the writers with review copies :-(

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. Avatar of Plomerus
    Plomerus says
    October 6, 2008, 7:13 pm

    It is pretty ironic that we were just discussing the 2/28/80 show and voila, its here! I certainly hope Sigma knocks it out of the park again, and it’s great to have the 26th included. Looking forward to it!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.