RSS Feed

Ronnie James Dio, 67

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 2.5/5 (4 votes cast)

At approximately 7:45 am on May 16, 2010, the rock and roll world lost a legend.  Ronnie James Dio passed, and left an immediate gap in the feelings of this writer.
 
I can first recall hearing Dio when I got Rainbow’s Rising album, and being floored by the power of his voice in all ranges.  Being a devoted Deep Purple fan, I was wondering who could accomapny Ritchie Blackmore after Ian Gillan did such a superb job for so many years.  Well, Dio exceeded my expectations, and he continued to do that when he put in devastating, landmark performances on Black Sabbath’s Heaven and Hell and Mob Rules albums.  To this day, Mob Rules ranks amongst my top all-time favorite albums, and Dio continued his mastery after leaving Sabbath with Vinnie Appice to form Dio and release the epic Holy Diver.
 
Unlike so many other rock stars who have passed because of personal excesses, Dio’s ending was because of a mortal enemy beyond his control, cancer.  I have been reliving Dio’s prowess with Tarantura’s issuance over the past few years of legendary Rainbow concerts blessed with his vocal skills.  Although he may have moved on to the big band in the sky, he will forever please my ears through the many, many passionate performances he delivered for his loyal fans.  RIP, Ronnie James Dio.

July 10, 1942 – May 16, 2010

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

Ronnie James Dio, 67, 2.5 out of 5 based on 4 ratings

8 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Avatar of johnbrownsbody
    May 18, 2010, 3:39 pm

    A remarkable talent has risen beyond the Rainbow. I must admit I never was a fan back in the day ( too much Ramones/Clash/XTC for me to pay attention to Sabs/Rainbow ), but I saw Ronnie lead Sabbath in ’92 ( hope that’s correct ) and then Heaven And Hell just last summer. A brilliant performance, tasteful and definitively METAL! May you find peace, Ronnie James, but never rest…ROCK ON!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Avatar of raul
    raul says
    May 18, 2010, 6:54 am

    Rest in Peace Ronnie. My record collection began hearing him improvising with Rainbow

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Avatar of silverdisc
    silverdisc says
    May 17, 2010, 11:50 am

    I remember seeing Ronnie back in 83 at the Beacon Theater in NYC . I still have my ticket stub from that night. His voice was so powerful and captivating it made me wonder who could top this guy. He was one of a kind. Bless you Ronnie – Rest In Peace.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Avatar of aleebee
    aleebee says
    May 17, 2010, 10:38 am

    Ronnie James Dio, 10/07/1942 – 16/05/2010. As a fan of Rainbow, Sabbath(/ Heaven And Hell) and Dio, a HUGE portion of the soundtrack to my life over the past 29years came from this man, who never disappointed whenever I had the pleasure to meet him. Thanks for the memories, Ronnie.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Avatar of vinny
    vinny says
    May 17, 2010, 9:15 am

    RIP RONNIE….There will never be another like you……….

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Avatar of chambau
    chambau says
    May 17, 2010, 8:20 am

    I’m shocked. He is my first hero on the musical world to die. Just not to be misunderstood, others died before I knew them. HEAVEN & HELL and RISING are probably among the top 5 hard rock albuns ever. He will be missed. RIP.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. Avatar of gsparaco
    gsparaco says
    May 17, 2010, 7:31 am

    Gone But Not Forgotten… Your Music And Influences Will Live On

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. Avatar of relayer67
    relayer67 says
    May 16, 2010, 5:11 pm

    We have lost a true giant, a fantastic lyrasist whose stories of silver mountains, neon knights, and rainbows in the dark have influenced music for 35 years. He will be missed but his legacy will live on and on. RIP

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.