When you plan your next trip, consider the welcome bonus. betfair exchange games will be good for the players to earn lots of extra money. Enjoy the fantastic 3D graphics and sound at our no hay comentarios: sites and be thrilled by the best features. Enjoy your favorite live roulette game by the help of siyuwu.net/?p=no-deposit-casino application, which remains completely optimized with Android and IOS devices.
 
RSS Feed

AC/DC – Iron Men (Godfather Records G.R. 525/526)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 2.4/5 (4 votes cast)

  Iron Men ( The Godfatherecords G.R. 525/526)  

Wells Fargo Arena Des Moines, Iowa USA April 17, 2010

Bonus Tracks: Tour Rehearsals, Los Angeles, Ca. October 5, 1983  

(78:19) Video Intro, Rock And Roll Train, Hell Ain’t A Bad Place To Be, Back In Black, Big Jack, Dirty Deads Done Dirt Cheap, Shot Down In Flames, Thunderstruck, Black Ice, The Jack, Hells Bells, Shoot To Thrill, War Machine, High Voltage, You Shook Me All Night Long, T.N.T.  

(71:05) Whole Lotta Rosie, Let There Be Rock, Highway To Hell, For Those About To Rock (Bonus Tracks) Rising Power, Flick Of The Switch, Nervous Shakedown, Guns For Hire, Unknown Song, Guns For Hire, Guns For Hire, Guns For Hire, Nervous Shakedown, Nervous Shakedown, Talking, Messin’ With The Kid  

When AC/DC tour, they really tour. The jaunt in support of Black Ice started in late 2008 and is just finishing up with three trips to the USA, this recording captures the last gig of the last tour. The recording is excellent and well balanced with virtually no audience interference that sounds great when turned up at very high volumes. The set list has virtually stayed the same through out the tour with little variation, this time around they drop Anything Goes in favor of High Voltage but overall is a nice mix of the Scott / Johnson material.

The band is in fine form and play well through out the show, highlights of the set for me are Shot Down In Flames, Black Ice, High Voltage and a smoking 14 minute version of Let There Be Rock featuring a great solo by Angus. The real highlight of this set are the 1983 tour rehearsals from Los Angeles, Ca done recorded just weeks before the start of the tour. The recording is excellent, the music is up front, vocals slightly lower and the back up vocals a very low in the mix. I personally love the Flick Of The Switch album and its a treat to hear these songs in a live (in the studio) setting. The four versions of Guns For Hire show the band wanted to perfect the song since it was used as the show opener.

The unknown song is the band basically messing around and has no real structure with some obscure blues style vocals from Brian. The versions of Nervous Shakedown are great and is nice to hear since I have not heard a live version before. The Talking track is 30 seconds of mumbling and is followed by a great version of Messin With The Kid, a rollicking version of a Chuck Berry style track similar to Rock In Peace from the import Dirty Deads record, the band really show their roots on this one.

The packaging is what we have all come to expect from G.R., trifold with beautiful full color pictures and the logo from the bands soundtrack to the Iron Man 2 soundtrack. If you already have Godfathers previous AC/DC release from this tour, War Machine, then this is not an essential release but if you don’t this is a great addition to the collection, it goes best with a nice day and a few cold brews.

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

AC/DC - Iron Men (Godfather Records G.R. 525/526), 2.4 out of 5 based on 4 ratings

6 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of mats22
    mats22 says
    June 30, 2010, 1:50 am

    I’m also on the Godfather friendy side. They produce many fantastic cds also with artists not often bootleged. And the price you get the Godfather albums is fair too. I don’t regret the purchase of my many many GR titles. And hey, they also produce very nice artwork!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of Spartacus
    Spartacus says
    June 28, 2010, 6:44 am

    I would like to know how many missteps mr. mott can find on more than 500 godfather titles, I have almost the entire GR collection and I can’t remember many. By the way GR produces titles every 3/4 weeks covering artists never considered on other labels. This is for me having “respect” for collectors.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Profile photo of gsparaco
    gsparaco says
    June 28, 2010, 6:26 am

    I know nothing of AC/DC and appreciate Relayer’s review and Godfather’s effort with this title. Godfather is produced, not for mass profit, but for collectors in mind. And yes they do make the ocassional misstep, but I’ve never gotten the impression they intentionally try to mislead collectors.

    Mott implies that a long standing practice of Godfather is to intentionally mislabel certain tracks to drum up sales. But again, I’ve never seen this.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. Profile photo of Spartacus
    Spartacus says
    June 28, 2010, 6:22 am

    So marking “tour” rehearsals instead of “live” rehearsals means not having respect for seasoned collectors? Most of Godfather releases have bonus tracks which are “extra” tracks for the main source and I consider it an effort more important than a typo error. Of course my 2 cents.
    Mott, I understand you are not a fan of this label but you should take some relax….sometime.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of mott
    mott says
    June 28, 2010, 12:14 am

    The 10/5/83 “tour rehearsal” bonus tracks are sourced from a very common bootleg dvd.They are in reality live rehearsal takes of the two promo videos found on the “Family Jewels”dvd.They are NOT tour rehearsals in any way.Checking the dvd will confirm this.Once again, Godfather conveniently give incorrect info to sell their product.If they had been truthfull,they would earn the trust and respect from seasoned collectors.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Profile photo of LedMan
    LedMan says
    June 27, 2010, 8:01 pm

    As mentioned above this has excellent sound quality and enjoyed at a high volume. I’ve said it before and will say again that I regret missing this tour. Maybe they will make another trip in the future. Excellent packaging on this one too.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.