RSS Feed

Kiss – Alive Again! (Godfather GR 288/289)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 2.5/5 (3 votes cast)

Alive Again (Godfatherecords G.R. 288/289)  

Disc 1 and Disc 2 tracks 1-7 Arena Verona Italy May 13, 2008

Disc 2 Tracks 8-10 Stadhalle Vienna, Austria May 12, 2008 Disc 2 Track 11 Acer Arena Sydney Australia March 20, 2008 Disc 2 Track 12 Kewadin Casino Sault Ste Marie USA July 20, 2007 Disc 2 Track 13 Izumiotsu Phoenix Osaka Japan July 22, 2006 Disc 2 Track 14 Rainbow Hall Nagoya Japan July 16, 2006 Disc 2 Track 15 Kokusai Center Fukuoka July 18, 2006  

CD 1: Deuce, Strutter, Got To Choose, Hotter Than Hell, Nothin To Lose, C’mon And Love Me, Parasite, She, Tommy Thayer Solo, 100,000 Years, Cold Gin, Let Me Go, Rock and Roll, Black Diamond, Rock And Roll All Nite

CD 2: Shout It Out Loud, Lick It Up, Gene Solo, I Love It Loud, I Was Made For Loving You, Love Gun, Detroit Rock City, Firehouse, Watchin You, Rock Bottom, Shock Me, All American Man, Heavens On Fire, Love ‘Em, Leave ‘Em, Kissin’ Time  

Alive Again capture Kiss during their current European tour to support the 35th anniversary of the band, Kiss had original planned to play the entire “Alive” album as a treat to the fans but chose to drop that idea after only a hand full of shows. Unfortunately this recording is the reshuffled set list but one look at the songs played and there is no complaints, a healthy dose of vintage Kiss. The sound is distant but clear and lacks bass frequencies and there is very minimal crowd noise around the taper. The band gives a tight and energetic performance, the addition of Tommy Thayer and Eric Singer, lauded by some loved by others really was a good move. The younger guys keep the ball rolling and do not stray from the original structures of the songs.

Highlights are Got To Choose, Parasite, SHE, and of course 100,000 Years. The bonus tracks on the second disc start off with three tracks from the previous nights performance that give us the missing tracks from the “Alive” record, the recording is even more distant and has a lot of crowd noise and some bumping noise throughout the recording possibly from the master tape, and the cuts are kind of blunt, highlight is definitely Watchin You. Shock Me is another average recording, only thing worth mentioning is Tommy Thayer handles lead vocals. Before their gig in Sault Ste Marie, Kiss let the fans choose via Internet voting a song to they never or rarely played to be added to that nights setlist and All American Man was chosen, this is a track from the studio side of the classic Alive II record.

Again it is distant and there is a lot of chatter around the recorder, I do not believe a better source has come out so this is the best there is. The next couple tracks seem like filler and do not even have a place on this set but there is a light at the end of the tunnel, Kissin’ Time from the band debut album is a slightly distant but clear and enjoyable recording and is a pleasure to hear. The packaging is up to the usual high standards you expect from Godfather, tri gatefold sleeve adorned with pictures from the tour. The bottom line is with the average sound quality this will probably only appeal to the completists and not the casual fan, especially since Kiss has been offering a instant live type of offer at their shows so fans can get the nights show soon afterwards in soundboard quality, and I am sure that they will be sold via the Internet (if there is money to be made, Gene will find a way).

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

Kiss - Alive Again! (Godfather GR 288/289), 2.5 out of 5 based on 3 ratings

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.