RSS Feed

U2 – Somewhere In Our Hearts (Godfather Records G.R. 131/132)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 2.5/5 (1 vote cast)

Somewhere In Our Hearts (Godfather Records G.R. 131/132)

TD Banknorth Garden – Boston, MA – December 4th, 2005

Disc 1: City Of Blinding Lights. Vertigo / Dirty Water / In The Garden . Elevation. I Will Follow. I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For / In A Little While. Beautiful Day / Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band / Here Comes The Sun . Original Of The Species.  Sometimes You Can’t Make It On Your Own / Torna A Surriento . Love And Peace Or Else. Sunday Bloody Sunday / Rock The Casbah.  Bullet The Blue Sky / The Hands That Built America / When Johnny Comes Marching Home . Miss Sarajevo

Disc 2: Pride (In The Name Of Love). Where The Streets Have No Name. One.  encores: Until The End Of The World.  Mysterious Ways.  With Or Without You.  Stuck In A Moment You Can’t Get Out Of.Yahweh, Bad / 40.  All Because Of You. Fast Cars.  Bonustracks:  People Get Ready (with Bruce Springsteen & Patti Scialfa) & love Will Tear Us Apart (with Arcade Fire)

In December of 2005 the third leg of U2’s Vertigo tour rolled into Boston for the first of back-to-back shows at the TD Banknorth Garden. The Godfather Records has captured this performance on Somewhere In Our Hearts from an excellent audience tape source.

Some fans at this show that had also been to the previous show in Montreal a few nights earlier had commented that the crowd was much less vocal than in Montreal. I don’t know…to me the Boston crowd seems very enthusiastic and appreciative, lending to the very nice overall atmosphere of this show.

Bono sings bits of “Sgt. Pepper’s'” and “Here Comes the Sun” during “Beautiful Day”, changing the lyrics (‘there goes the sun’) to reflect the cold, snowy weather outside. Bono thanks Ashley Judd, who’s at the show, for her work with the ONE Campaign. During “One”, Bono brings about a dozen fans on stage with different national flags tied together and they stand behind Larry holding the flags up as a backdrop. U2 comes out for an unplanned 3rd encore, playing “All Because Of You” and “Fast Cars” to a shocked crowd made up of fans that haven’t already left. Many fans, including some getting in the GA line for tomorrow’s show, miss the end of the show.

Bono seemed to be in an extra flirtatious mood this evening, saying at one point, “I’m a married man but I can still flirt can’t I?”  Which I’m sure was music to the ears of the ladies in the crowd that he had his eyes on!

In order to fill up both discs completely, Godfather Records has added bonus material on disc two from October 27th, 2005 in Philadelphia (with Bruce Springsteen and Patti Scialfa). Also included is material from November 28, 2005 in Montreal (with Arcade Fire). It’s always nice when collectors are given their moneys worth, and Godfather certainly delivers in that regard.

This release is packaged in Godfather’s customary cardboard gatefold packaging, which is decorated with very nice photos of the event. To me this package style is very understated, yet still very classy and I like it very much.

The Godfather Records continue to quietly become one of the highest quality labels in the business, and they’ve got themselves another winner with this release. For the hardcore U2 fan or even for the casual collector I can heartily recommend this release.

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

U2 - Somewhere In Our Hearts (Godfather Records G.R. 131/132), 2.5 out of 5 based on 1 rating

1 Comment

Leave A Reply
  1. silverdisc says
    July 19, 2008, 4:49 pm

    Excellent title from the Godfather. As mentioned , the sound and the atmosphere of the concert are wonderful. U2 and the crowd sound like they are really enjoying themselves and it shows.
    I don’t collect much U2 , but this title was recommended to me and it’s definitely a keeper – thanks.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.