RSS Feed

U2 – What Time Is It In The World? (Godfather Records GR 560/561)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)

What Time Is It In The World?  (Godfather Records GR 560/561)

Commerzbank Arena, Frankfurt, Germany, August 10, 2010

CD1:  1 Intro: Space Oddity 2 Return Of The Stingray Guitar (New Instrumental Song) 3 Beautiful Day 4 New Year’s Day 5 Get On Your Boots 06 Magnificent 7 Mysterious Ways / My Sweet Lord 8 I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For / Movin’ On Up 9 Glastonbury (New Song) 10 Elevation 11 In A Little While 12 Miss Sarajevo 13 Until The End Of The World 14 The Unforgettable Fire 15 City Of Blinding Lights 16 Vertigo / It’s The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine)

CD2:  1 I’ll Go Crazy If I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight 2 Sunday Bloody Sunday 3 MLK 4 Walk On / You’ll Never Walk Alone 5 Desmond Tutu Speech 6 One / Amazing Grace 7 Where The Streets Have No Name 8 Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me 9 With Or Without You 10 Moment of Surrender.  Bonus Tracks:  Olympic Stadion, Helsinki, Finland, August 21, 2010 11 I Will Follow 12 No Line On The Horizon (Semi Acoustic Version) 13 Every Breaking Wave (New Song) 14 Pride (In The Name Of Love) Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow, Russia, August 25, 2010 15 Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door (With Yuri Shevchuk)

This new Godfather release contains on the main tracks the concert at the Commerzbank Arena Frankfurt on August 10. This concert, the second after the cancelled tour dates,  is considered as a more than just solid gig and Bono is in fine voice during the whole show.

We get for example the first performance of « New Year’s day » since October 3 2009.

 „Moment of Surrender” is dedicated to those who died and were affected by the Love Parade tragedy in Duisburg. With this dedication, the band touched their audience.

But this was not the only reference to Germany.

Bono’s comments about his back surgery (“I have ‘made in Germany’ now stamped  on my ass….”) and thanks his german doctors that operated him in Munich. He points out that without this excellent team of doctors, he wouldn’t have been able to be on stage in Frankfurt that night.

Bono was in a funny mood: He was giving each band member a German car make.

Michael Stipe was at this show. That’s why Bono sings a bit of REM’s „End of the world as we know it”‘ in Stipe’s honor at the end of „Vertigo”.

One of the emotional highlights of the show is „The unforgettable fire”. Bono introduces the song with a citation in German of Germany‘s prince of poets Goethe who was born in Frankfurt and used to live some years in this city: “Was immer du tun kannst oder erträumst zu können, beginne es! Kühnheit besitzt Genie, Macht und magische Kraft.”( Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it! Boldness has genius, power and magic energy.)

Another nice surprise for the audience was the new song „Glastonbury”. The song sounds like an outtake of „New line on the horizon” and has a feeling of the late Sixties. (could be a John Lennon Rocker, a kind of  uptempo Cold Turkey)

We get also four bonus tracks from the Helsinki concert on August 21. The sound quality on these is not quite on the same high level as the Frankfurt show, but still very enjoyable. Interesting is the semi acoustic version of „No line on the horizon” which was performed the first time in 2010. This version is compared to the album version rather unpolished, but has a lively feeling. Then comes the beautiful new song „Every breaking wave”. This pearl can also be found on the triple album „Like a hurricane” (GR 566-68) with the two Zurich gigs. Another rare track is „Pride”. This song was put on the setlist after an absence of 25 shows.

The absolute surprise is the last song of the fillers: „Knockin‘ on heaven’s door”. I remember the band playing their version of this Dylan classic during a show in Balimore in 2001 and already before in 1986. This time, the song was performed in Moscow on August 25 with russian singer Yuri Shevchuk, leader of the Band „DDT”.

This double disc set comes in Godfather’s usual trifold cardboard sleeve. The cover shot is simply fantastic. The picture shows the spectacular stage shot from a distance. So the giant octopus is to see together with the whole illuminated stadium. There are more photographs inside the sleeve and there are also to find some of Bono’s statements during the show about Germany. The nice package, the strong gig with Bono in fine voice, the warm sound on the main set and the interesting choice of filler tracks makes this one a winner.

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

U2 - What Time Is It In The World? (Godfather Records GR 560/561), 2.3 out of 5 based on 3 ratings

2 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Avatar of LedMan
    LedMan says
    October 27, 2010, 2:46 pm

    Thanks to the taper for capturing a very enjoyable recording and excellent U2 show!!!
    Thanks for sharing this source with the masses and for any casual or hardcore U2 fan this Godfather is a excellent release to add to your collection. All instruments come through loud and clear and this is one you can easily crank up and with the correct system, you will feel like you’re at the concert. This is great for me considering the only decent tickets I can find in my area are almost $600 USD for a pair.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Avatar of sfibus
    sfibus says
    October 26, 2010, 8:08 am

    This is a very good show captured in near excellent Audience sound quality! Bono seems in good voice and the band is playing well behind him. What I like about this release almost as much as the music itself is the amazing front cover photo! Any U2 fan will want to have this one for their collection.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.