RSS Feed

Important Information Re: Led Zeppelin 6-28-72 “Get Back”

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 2.6/5 (12 votes cast)

I appreciate all the hard work you guys do, and often read your reviews, but I very strongly feel the need to comment on this show.

The show is mine.  I acquired the only master clone from the taper, remastered it, designed artwork and released it as “Arizona’s Smiling.”  No other use of the master tapes is authorized, and the Scorpio release is an outright theft of my work.

I am a very well-known collector and fan of Led Zeppelin, and amongst the collector community my integrity is considered sacrosanct – I am on record everywhere that matters as being against the profiteering of bootleg companies who make money using recordings to which the rights do not belong to them.  I would NEVER authorize a bootleg company to use my recording, and I am 100% sure that the recording did not come from my source, as “Get Back” is practically a digital clone of “Arizona’s Smiling.”  Like I said, outright theft.

I would very much appreciate if you would note at the end of the review that I did not authorize the use of this recording, and provide a link where users can download the show for free, as I originally intended it to be issued – over 1000 people acquired the show via this method before it was stolen.  Here is the link:  http://www.dimeadozen.org/torrents-details.php?id=184909

Thanks in advance,
TimD

Editor’s comment:

Although you raise some interesting issues which are worthy to be contemplated, the Collector’s Music Review generally avoids the “lowgen-torrenting” jihad since it is outside the scope of our project.  We focus upon reviewing silver pressed releases and whatever goes on at dime a dozen and trader’s den, while worthy, really is of no consequence for our hobby.  

To address your letter, the first question I must ask is if you have actually listened to Scorpio’s Get Back?  From my understanding it was released on Friday and nobody I know has it yet.  I personally didn’t plan on reviewing this and don’t know if anyone on the staff were going to.  But your letter has piqued my interest so maybe it might be worth having?  

You wrote:  “The show is mine.  I acquired the only master clone from the taper, remastered it, designed artwork and released it as ‘Arizona’s Smiling.’  No other use of the master tapes is authorized, and the Scorpio release is an outright theft of my work.”  

The phrase “pot calling the kettle black” comes to mind when I read this paragraph.  Technically, when the taper brought his tape recorder to the venue and recorded the show, he was stealing from Led Zeppelin.  Was he authorized by the band to produce the tape?  Were you authorized by the band to remaster it, design the artwork and post it online?  

You are accusing Scorpio of being what you are, and that is a thief.  Whether you post it on line or press it on silver disc isn’t an issue and doesn’t change that fact.   

You wrote:  “I am a very well-known collector and fan of Led Zeppelin, and amongst the collector community my integrity is considered sacrosanct – I am on record everywhere that matters as being against the profiteering of bootleg companies who make money using recordings to which the rights do not belong to them.”

Using the term “sacrosanct” is interesting.  Are you the Dali Lama?  The Pope?  It is normally used for sacred space and not for people.  That is, a church building would be sacrosanct, but that is besides the point.  Again, do you have the rights to distribute the tape?  Under whose authority?

You wrote:  “I would very much appreciate if you would note at the end of the review that I did not authorize the use of this recording.”

We don’t know yet if there will be a review, but honestly you are the only person who really cares if Scorpio used this tape without your authority.  Trust me, nobody really cares who you are and what you think and posting your protest on the review (if there is one) will be pointless. 

In my opinion, I think Scorpio is to be commended for releasing Get Back at this time.  The only other silver release of the show is on Empress Valley’s Chasing Revelry which was expensive and is now sold out.  This is another opportunity for normal collectors to own this great show on a silver edition and, since it should sound better than EV, will be a fantastic edition to the collection.  Whether or not Mr. Tim approves. 

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

Important Information Re: Led Zeppelin 6-28-72 "Get Back", 2.6 out of 5 based on 12 ratings

14 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Avatar of BootBoySlim
    May 15, 2011, 10:45 am

    “Nut” sums this guy up pretty well.
    BootBoySlim

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Avatar of LedMan
    LedMan says
    July 21, 2008, 8:50 pm

    Comparing this to a CDR set of Crashing Revelry from Empress Valley, the Scorpio sounds brighter and is a great addition to my silver collection. This is one “SMOKIN” show with great versions of Dazed and Whole Lotta Love and I’m glad someone taped the last show of the “72″ American tour. I have no idea if this is a copy of TimD’s torrent and it’s nice to finally have this in my collection.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Avatar of snefru
    snefru says
    July 11, 2008, 3:08 pm

    I got me a good laugh of TimD’s. You say’s the show is yours. !!!
    He..he.. And you are a collector?? For how long time?? What about if someone else recorded the show?. Do they need to ask you before trade it, orr release a silver bootleg?
    No No Mr. TimD. You don’t own anything else, than a bootleg recording of a concert. You can play it, trade it, upload it on web, but you can never say you have any rights for the show, or anything else, beside to have your own copy.
    Will you make complain to LZep production, becourse someone made a bootleg a show yourself made a recording of? Even if they use your copy (dimeadozen downloaded), there will be NOTHING you can do. Absolutely NOTHING.
    I’m surprice you don’t understand this.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Avatar of hugofuguzev
    July 9, 2008, 10:25 am

    Nooooope….propriety doesn’t appear to mean Jack anymore.

    The Show ISN’T Yours…the taper’s, maybe, but unless YOU taped it, you’re just the guy who happened to get a copy of the tape.

    I find it bloody amazing how many people squabble over this stuff. Can’t people just let a show be a show, without arguing over who’s fucking show it is? Fact…most listeners/collectors probably don’t care…as long as it sounds good…

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Avatar of weedwacker
    weedwacker says
    July 3, 2008, 8:21 am

    We wants it, we needs it. Must have the precious. They stole it from us. Sneaky little japses. Wicked, tricksy, false!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Avatar of gsparaco
    gsparaco says
    July 1, 2008, 12:35 pm

    It’s a bit off topic, but copies of the two TCOLZ titles should be arriving at the CMR office any day now. Once they arrive the staff will drink lots of espresso and stay up around the clock to produce the world’s greatest, most detailed reviews by the weekend.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  7. Avatar of roertd7
    roertd7 says
    July 1, 2008, 12:06 pm

    On the subject of LZ pressed silvers 2 questions;

    1 Does anyone actually have copies of the much publicised TCOLZ releases and if so, can we have some reviews, and

    2 Is there any truth in the rumour EVSD have a board of one of the Seattle ’75 shows coming up for release.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. Avatar of HarleyDog
    HarleyDog says
    July 1, 2008, 10:54 am

    Wow. The title of Scorpio’s release should have been “Pianoguy Strikes Back” Mr. Tucson has resorted to seeking revenge thru others. While it is definitely true that there’s more than one Master Transfer floating around (according to what Mr. Tucson sent to us and the info he supplied) then TimD has been misled. Mr. Tucson has not always been openly honest so who knows for sure what transfers are floating around out there. TimD should calm down and let the fire that is Tucson ’72 burn itself out. Can’t We All Just Get Along…..

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. Avatar of eric99
    eric99 says
    July 1, 2008, 7:08 am

    TimD, the show is not yours to claim.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  10. Avatar of Plomerus
    Plomerus says
    June 30, 2008, 9:58 pm

    I’m not going to speak for anyone other than myself on this issue, but I’m sure there are bound to be those who agree and those that don’t. That’s just fine, and what makes life interesting to begin with. While I’m more than aware that I could download or trade digital media all day long, every day…and save a lot of cash doing so, there are a number of issues that prevent me from doing so: 1) I have no interest in wiping out every last byte of memory in my PC with a zillion large media files nor being plagued with an infinitude of spyware, adware, viruses ad nauseum – I need this computer for work and other mundane, but truly necessary tasks. 2) I don’t own a professional printing press, nor a warehouse of high grade card stock to print up my own “release quality” artwork/inserts. 3) Even the best CDR’s are prone to injury or corruption, and the only silvers I’ve ever seen suffer a similar fate were in fact beer coasters that were kindly provided by the not-always-so-stellar local “talent” or record companies (remember them?) as promo items. 4) Thinking of the library of music I’ve amassed over the years from LP’s to Cassettes to CD’s…literally thousands of “legit” items (compared to the relatively few roios I possess), if I burned it all down to digital files and then had a hard drive crash or wiped clean…holy crap, I’d be near suicidal (yeah, I know a house fire is always possible too, but believe me, I’d be grabbing as many bins of rarities and throwing them out the window before exiting myself). 5) Collecting intangibles isn’t quite as gratifying as holding something in your hand, spending hours examining the artwork/reading liner notes…I mean, does anyone remember walking into physical record stores or conventions, digging through the bins and unearthing diamonds that you’d never seen/heard/thought you’d ever find before? Yeah ok…I guess the concept of Utopian society is great…free love, free music, hell right now, free petrol would be a fabulous idea…but that’s not how the world turns, and I’m not going to complain about spending a few extra pence on a silver disc considering someone cared enough about the music to bother pressing it – consider the dreadful state of music this century and be thankful anyone still gives a shit about some dinosaur bands’ heydays. Anyway, it’s really difficult to refrain from debating ethics and philosophy here, so I’ll leave it at that since it truly is beyond the scope of this site, but Tim, Scorpio, et all, the bottom line is, unless Zeppelin put the concert out for free themselves or otherwise endorsed it, I’m afraid any “guilt” is shared by all.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  11. Avatar of sfibus
    sfibus says
    June 30, 2008, 6:19 am

    Tim, unbelievable as it may be, precious few people care what you think on this issue. Not me, not the majority of the members here and certainly not Scorpio. Ironically, bringing your “bootlegger holy war” to this site will surely increase Scorpio’s bottom line on this release as many now want to see what all the fuss is about. I suggest your energy would have been better directed to one of those communities where you are held in such God-like regard.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  12. Avatar of Rocker
    Rocker says
    June 30, 2008, 6:14 am

    I’m a bit confused. Correct me if I am wrong, but aren’t the tapers putting themselves out on the proverbial limb to begin with by recording these shows without the consent of the performing artists who receive no royalties for their “collectible” much sought after recorded performances…

    Oh, and for the record, Ledman, hit the nail on the head. Silver label issue, for many collectors is the hands down choice and is much more likely to command and/or hold its value.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  13. Avatar of jp
    jp says
    June 30, 2008, 12:07 am

    this is totally ridiculous since tim d stole from the mighty zep themselves!!!!!
    i am a recent and humble collector and this is an opportunity to listen to this show.
    when you are a bootlegger, you need to put your ego aside and focus on music itself (and certainly not on personal interests).
    jp

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  14. Avatar of LedMan
    LedMan says
    June 29, 2008, 7:36 pm

    Personally I prefer silver releases versus CDRs which are difficult to keep up with when you have a very very large collection. The bottom line is that collectors who want to just download this remastered source can do just that and the ones that prefer silver releases now have another opportunity to own this decent source.

    I also want to mention that this is NOT the only master clone in circulation. Shortly after EV pressed and released their transfer, a brighter transfer appeared.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.