Home / Led Zeppelin / Led Zeppelin – For Your Life / Legendary Legend (Tarantura TCD-2007-1-1,2)

Led Zeppelin – For Your Life / Legendary Legend (Tarantura TCD-2007-1-1,2)


For Your Life / Legendary Legend (Tarantura TCD-2007-1-1,2)
O2 Arena, London, England – December 10th, 2007

DISC 1: (68:32) Introduction, Good Times Bad Times, Ramble On, Black Dog, In My Time Of Dying, For Your Life, Trampled Underfoot, Nobody’s Fault But Mine, No Quarter, Since I’ve Been Loving You

DISC 2: (63:55) Dazed And Confused, Stairway To Heaven, The Song Remains The Same, Misty Mountain Hop, Kashmir, Whole Lotta Love, Rock and Roll

I thought this would never happen.  However, on December 10th, 2007 the surviving members along with the son of the late great John Bonham performed a tribute to Ahmet Ergegun for a charity event. Thanks to the tapers, those of us including me that couldn’t attend this event can at least hear what we missed.  I know of 8 different sources that are circulating at the time of this review.

The source used for this great release is a remastered version of  the “Trainspotter” source which made its debut in general circulation on the “Royal Orleans” site. The levels have been increased to give it a fuller sound and it’s an improvement over the “Slowburn” source, which the taper generously torrented shortly after this historic show and in my opinion is somewhat bass heavy and doesn’t really capture the other members. Just like that source, which I will call #1, the incredible drumming power of Jason Bonham is upfront as well as Robert Plant’s vocals, followed by Mr. Page and Jonsey. Judging by this release we have a more balanced recording to enjoy which is exactly what I’m doing as I write this review. I think the members who surprised me the most were Plant who I honestly thought didn’t have it in him any longer and Jason who I have seen with Foreigner and added so much to this event. Your Dad would be proud.  I never doubted Mr. Page or Jonesey.

Highlights are “In My Time Of Dying,” “For Your Life” (which made its live debut), “No Quarter” (Jonesy Shines), and “Kashmir” (Plant’s favorite). Tarantura packaged this release in a vibrant cardboard gatefold along with a booklet and each disc has its own picture printed on the top.  This title is limited to 130 unnumbered copies and SOLD OUT in 6 hours!!  It is worth picking up if you can find a copy.  (LedMan  Jan. 2008)

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

Check Also

Led Zeppelin - The Garden Tapes

Led Zeppelin – The Garden Tapes (Empress Valley Supreme Disc EVSD – 805/6/7/8/9/10/11/12/13/14/15/16/17/18/19/20/21/22 + DVD)

The Garden Tapes – The Song Remains The Same Concerts Expanded & Revised Collectors Edition ...

One comment

  1. With a follow up release in the offing here’s a chance to get a copy of the best version of this concert currently available on pressed silver. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply