RSS Feed

John Lennon – Imagine: Les Archives Personnelles De John Lennon (Unicorn Records UC-121/22)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

Imagine: Les Archives Personnelles De John Lennon (Unicorn Records UC-121/22)

Disc 1, Imagine Les Archives Personnelles De John Lennon (March 4th, 1990), 1980 Songwriting:  Intro / She Loves You, Interviews, Watching The Wheels (Piano Demo), Interviews, Life Begins At Forty (Demo), I’m Stepping Out, Every Man Has A Woman, Dear Yoko (Bermuda Demo), Starting Over (Partial), My Life (Piano Demo), My Life (Demo Take 3), Don’t Be Crazy (Piano Demo), The Worst Is Over Now (Guitar Demo), Starting Over (Demo Take 3), Starting Over (Session Chat), Starting Over (Vocal Booth), Starting Over (Alternate Take).  Bonus tracks:  Starting Over (Control Room Playback), Starting Over (Extended Multitrack Mixdown), I’m Stepping Out (Take 1 Multitrack Mixdown), I’m Stepping Out (Take 2 Multitrack Mixdown)

Disc 2, Imagine Les Archives Personnelles De John Lennon (March 25th, 1990), Beatles US Invasion:  Intro,  Pathe Newsreels / Fans Interviews, Boys (Segment) / Interviews / There’s A Place, Interviews / Twist And Shout, This Boy (Paris ’64), Chains (Partial) / Interviews, Intro / All My Loving (Ed Sullivan 9/2/64), Till There Was You (Ed Sullivan 9/2/64), She Loves You (Ed Sullivan 9/2/64), Interviews, I Saw Her Standing There (Ed Sullivan 9/2/64), I Want To Hold Your Hand (Ed Sullivan 9/2/64), Interviews.  Bonus tracks:  Intro / Twist And Shout (Ed Sullivan 9/2/64), Please Please Me (Ed Sullivan 9/2/64), I Want To Hold Your Hand (Ed Sullivan 9/2/64), I Saw Her Standing There (Paris ’64), This Boy (Paris ’64 Partial), Twist And Shout (Paris ’64), From Me To You (Paris ’64 Instrumental), Long Tall Sally (Paris ’64), From Me To You (Paris ’64 Instrumental), From Me To You (Paris ’64)

The Lost Lennon Tapes, which were broadcast on Westwood One from 1988-1992, were some of the most detailed and fascinating glimpses into the life and art of John Lennon.  The interviews, demos and outtakes were booted almost immediately and form the basis for many collections. 

Imagine: Les Archives Personnelles De John Lennon is the first release of the two French broadcasts.  Aired on March 4th, 1990 and three weeks later on March 25th, these two discs copy the shows as they were broadcast from Paris in excellent sound quality. 

The March 4th broadcast focuses upon Lennon’s final recording sessions for Double Fantasy and songs that would be used for Milk & Honey in 1984.  The second broadcast focuses upon The Beatles’ first visit to America in 1964 and the resultant Beatlemania  surrounding the event.

Unicorn include many bonus tracks including rare takes of “Stepping Out” and “Starting Over” on the first disc, and several tracks from telecasts in 1964 on the second. 

This is a very nice title with very rare material for the Beatle collector and is worth having.

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.