RSS Feed

Front Page

Best of 2012 results are out —>Top 10 of 2012

——————————————————————-

 Thank you all for supporting our efforts.  It should go without saying but Collectors Music Reviews is NOT a catalog.  Nothing here is for sale nor do we know where to get them.  This is merely an academic discussion of these artifacts for our amusement.

You can now follow Collectors Music Reviews on Twitter.  Given the backlog of new release and other titles to be reviewed, this will be a way to give up-to-date impressions on them before we write the in-depth review that you all expect.   

Oftentimes moments of genius escape official detection.  Inspired or rare performances occur without the artist or the record label there to capture a moment which we fans want to hear.  Thankfully others have been there to capture the moment on tape and have been gracious enough to share.  

Legal and moral arguments are transcended by the artistic and historic merit of these recordings.  Pete Townshend himself expressed such thoughts about bootlegs when he says:

“I’d like to see it proliferate unchecked.  If we don’t, we may allow something wonderful to be nipped in the bud….  As an artist, what I think is important is that people listen to your work, and if you are properly rewarded for it, that’s the bonus.”  (New York Post, Sunday July 2, 2000)

There are many websites dedicated to a particular band.  Many websites will offer great information on Bob Dylan, Led Zeppelin, or the Rolling Stones.  But no other free website in the world offers the comprehensive and detailed analysis of live music for all artists as contained on this site. 


We are a group of passionate and dedicated fans, collectors, and writers who not only love to collect and listen to these releases, but also to write about them.  The articles contained on this page are part review, part commentary, part social history, part editorial opinion, and all interesting reading.  If you are as obsessive as we are, then get comfortable and plan on spending several hours pouring over these articles.  

Already there are more than a thousand articles in this database with more added daily.  Updates will of course focus on the latest releases, but there are many old releases that have never been mentioned nor reviewed online which deserve attention.

The amount of information contained in these pages is overwhelming.  We recommend the following:

  1. Sign up as a subscriber.  There is no cost involved for registration (in fact, there is no cost for anything on this site except your attention).  You will find the registration promp on the right hand side.  Once you register you will have full access to all of the news, reviews, and editorials.  You will also have the opportunity to leave your own ratings and comments on releases.  To prevent spam and abuse, all comments are moderated by the administrators.   

  2. Once you register, sign up to have the daily updates sent to you by email.  You will find the registration on the upper right hand side.  Or click here.  You will receive an email every morning with the new articles posted from the previous day.  If there are no updates (which rarely happens), then you will not receive an email.

  3. Updates are posted on the “News And Updates” link to the upper left hand side.  That should be the first page you visit each time.

  4. We not charge a fee to access the reviews on this site.  We do suggest donations to keep us going and the suggested donation amounts are less than the price of one bad bootleg review. 

  5. If you have any suggestions or questions, please send us an email

  6. Remember that this is what we do for fun.  We are not professionals.  You will find typoes, grammatical errors and factual mistakes from time to time.  If you find an error, just relax!  Send us an email and we’ll correct it. 

 

Front Page, 2.6 out of 5 based on 64 ratings

103 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    August 16, 2014, 6:56 pm

    anybody have any of the following (available) on pressed silver original CD(s) (except for Nos. 2 & 5, which were released as pro-CDR titles only), or at least know where or how I can currently find any of these, or could get any of these for me?….

    1. Deep Purple 1CD “RITCHIE’S LAST” (Darker Than Blue 002)
    2. Roger Waters 1-pro-CDR “SOUNDBOARD KAOS” (Ayanami-058)
    3. Deep Purple 2CD “2ND NIGHT OF RIZ” (Demon’s Eye DE-010-11)
    4. Deep Purple 2CD “PURPLE BLITZ” (Demon’s Eye DE-036/037)
    5. Roger Waters 3-pro-CDR “PROJECT KAOS” (LEM 031)
    6. Deep Purple 3CD “AUTUMN OF 1971” (Bondage 247/8/9)
    7. Deep Purple 2CD “TORONTO (7.2.71)” (DP label)

    thanx. you can email me at xyzXYZee “at” aol “dot” com. thankx

    Report user
    • Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
      August 25, 2014, 1:08 am

      here are a couple more that i’m now also looking for…..

      8. Deep Purple 2CD “RAT BAT PURPLE”
      9. Deep Purple 2CD “RAT BAT RIFF IN PHILADELPHIA”

      Report user
  2. Profile photo of wgpsec
    wgpsec says
    January 3, 2014, 8:53 am

    Axeman… check out this Mid Valley title for material from Clapton’s first three solo records. Gerard reviewed it here.

    Eric Clapton – The Lost Polydor Tapes “Archives Pathfinder” (Mid Valley 105/106/107/108/109/110)

    • Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
      May 5, 2014, 9:50 am

      thanks, wgpsec. doesn’t anybody know of any good Deep Purple CD titles of studio material, esp. their Mk. II lineup? i got the 1CD “Never, Never Before” on the Starquake label (SQ-01) a few months ago, and it’s freaking awesome! does anybody else also have it, and agree how great it is? i love it so much that it has inspired me to get more Deep Purple studio material, esp. Mk. II, and any suggestions whatsoever would be very appreciated…thankx

      Report user
  3. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    December 31, 2013, 9:57 pm

    (and) anybody know of any good pressed silver CD titles that are compilations of studio material (rarities, outtakes, demos, alt. versions, remixes, etc.) of Eric Clapton’s solo career, esp. in the ‘70’s & ‘80’s, other than the 4CD “Further on up the Crossroads”? thanx to anybody who could recommend what we should try to get

    Report user
  4. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    December 31, 2013, 9:56 pm

    anybody know of any good pressed silver CD titles that are compilations of studio material (rarities, outtakes, demos, alt. versions, remixes, etc.) of Deep Purple, esp. their Mk. II lineup, other than the 1CD “Never Never Before” (Starquake label)? how about the 1CD “Purplemania!” (Burning Machine Heads label)? thanx to anybody who could recommend what we should try to get

    Report user
  5. Profile photo of sionxxii
    sionxxii says
    December 4, 2013, 6:13 am

    Ok, so which one of you is Paperprog??

    Report user
  6. Profile photo of sionxxii
    sionxxii says
    November 25, 2013, 8:43 am

    “ERROR 403″ happened to me last week, I’ve no problem today.

    Report user
  7. Profile photo of oldman24
    oldman24 says
    November 25, 2013, 7:17 am

    Same problem as ‘Careful’ when logging out: “ERROR 403″. Could the webmaster take a look at this?

    Report user
  8. Profile photo of classicrawker
    November 23, 2013, 5:49 am

    Actually I can’t log in on my Asus Android tablet for some reason? I get an error message.

    Report user
  9. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    November 23, 2013, 2:05 am

    i’ve noticed a definite, major improvement in the speed of page-loading here several days ago, so i guess it was a very good idea for me to bring up the issue on Oct. 15th. however, ever since the major upgrade in speed, i’ve been completely unable to log out of this great site…i always just get an error page, and then when i return the next night, i always find my account already logged in. so thanx very much to this great site’s administrators for the big speed upgrade, but could any of them please help me with my logging out problem? thanx. am i the only one, or is anybody else also unable to log out?

    Report user
  10. Profile photo of classicrawker
    November 10, 2013, 2:52 pm

    Very cool website that archives web pages so you can find websites which are no longer supported. Lots of good info gets lost when music fans stop maintaining their websites and this Archive website may have a snap shot of an old website you used to love to visit but thought was lost forever.

    Here is an old Stones site I used to visit which is now gone.

    http://web.archive.org/web/20090226155640/http://happyjack88.hp.infoseek.co.jp/stones69.html

    Report user
  11. Profile photo of wgpsec
    wgpsec says
    October 17, 2013, 4:51 pm

    I have experienced the same issues. Pages load very slow and this weeks update took me about an hour or so. I will see what I can find out. (At least I know that it’s not just my ancient PC)

  12. Profile photo of bim
    bim says
    October 17, 2013, 8:19 am

    they’re probably ordering a new bath of orange suits before rounding us up

    Report user
  13. Profile photo of sionxxii
    sionxxii says
    October 17, 2013, 6:06 am

    God only know what data the NSA is gathering off us from this site.

    Report user
  14. Profile photo of yenssongs
    yenssongs says
    October 16, 2013, 12:31 am

    Same problems here: very slow

    Report user
  15. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    October 15, 2013, 11:42 pm

    is it just my PC, or does anybody else here also experience the same maddening frustrations of most, if not all, of the pages of this site often being very slow to load? the content of this site is excellent, but sometimes, like earlier tonight, a page here takes up to well more than a full minute to load…sometimes well more than 2 or 3 minutes! very, very frustrating. i’ve tried both Mozilla Firefox (the latest updated version) & Microsoft Internet Explorer browsers, but i’ve experienced the problems with both. was this issue ever brought to the attention of the late Gerard Sparaco or any of the other administrators, and did they ever try to do anything about it? thanx to anybody who could let us know

    Report user
  16. Profile photo of Stuart
    Stuart says
    September 28, 2013, 10:32 am

    @Careful Axeman; Cellar Dweller is a CDR label from a retailer who is also a big silver retailer. I believe the CDR label fronts CDs that are out of print or, like some Japanese CDRs, are issued for runs of a dedicated interest not the Rock ‘n’ Roll dinosaurs.

  17. Profile photo of erikbt
    erikbt says
    September 28, 2013, 7:41 am

    @careful axeman; there’s a “report this seller”-button available at all auction sites at ebay. Maybe you have to be logged in to see it. You could also “report” your last purchase to ebay ( “resolve a problem” ).

    Report user
  18. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    September 27, 2013, 11:28 pm

    could anybody tell me how to go about reporting a lowlife scum of a bootleg seller on Ebay who lives in the Netherlands to the proper authorities (for selling boots, which turn out to be CDRs), and maybe to Ebay as well? thanx

    Report user
  19. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    September 27, 2013, 11:25 pm

    anybody know whether or not there are any studio demos, outtakes, alternate versions/mixes, etc. of the following Doors songs of 1967 that exist on pressed silver original CD releases?….

    1. Break on Through (to the Other Side)
    2. Soul Kitchen
    3. Twentieth Century Fox
    4. You’re Lost, Little Girl

    i’ve already tried searching the Internet myself, but so far i haven’t been able to find any, so any help would be appreciated

    Report user
  20. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    August 22, 2013, 11:53 pm

    anybody know if the label Cellar Dweller has ever released any pressed silver original CD titles, or are they just a CDR-only label? if the latter, then are they a commercially legit pro-CDR label like Amity or LEM, or are they just a cheesy DIY amateur operation? thanks to anybody who could kindly inform us

    Report user
  21. Profile photo of relayer67
    relayer67 says
    June 26, 2013, 3:11 am

    There is not alot of Allman Brothers outakes out there on silver althjough some do circulate among traders. there is a forth coming deluxe remaster of Brothers and Sisters that is supposed to have a disc of bonus material as well as the September 1973 Winterland show, something that I am looking much forward too.

    Report user
  22. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    June 25, 2013, 8:52 pm

    …..or how about the Allman Bros. Band (for studio compilations)? thankx

    Report user
  23. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    June 19, 2013, 11:47 pm

    anybody know of great full career-length compilations of studio material (rarities, outtakes, demos, alt. versions, remixes, etc.) that they could strongly recommend for Creedence Clearwater Revival, the Grateful Dead, the Kinks, or Deep Purple? thanx to anybody who could make any good suggestions

    Report user
  24. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    June 12, 2013, 12:49 am

    so nobody knows anything about “Reverse G” vs. “Everyday We Play the Blues” for Derek and the Dominos in Cincinnati (1970)?

    Report user
  25. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    June 12, 2013, 12:36 am

    thanx, relayer67. we managed to get the Doors 1CD “A Scandinavian Prayer”, which was released by Explorer Records in 2007 (ER 0107) and claims to have been “re-mastered from the original reels”. anybody familiar with it? it sounds great, but does anybody possibly know of any other version of the Doors Stockholm ’68 show that’s definitely better? also, anybody know of any version of the Doors Miami ’69 show that’s noticeably superior to the 1CD “Liquid Night” on the Screaming Butterfly label, which we got just a couple weeks ago? thankx for any replies

    Report user
  26. Profile photo of relayer67
    relayer67 says
    May 29, 2013, 3:04 am

    I do not beleive either the Miami or the Stockholm shows have been upgraded on silver for some time. The masterclone for the late show in Stockholm sufaced a few years back that is a nice upgrade but do not beleive it was booted. I think the old Swinging Pig title for stockholm is still the only version of both early and late shows. A comprehensive Doors Box set would be a very welcome

    Report user
  27. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    May 28, 2013, 8:57 pm

    if nobody can help us with the Doors Miami ’69 show, then how about the Doors 9/20/1968 shows in Stockholm, Sweden? what are the very best versions? and the very worst versions to avoid? we esp. want the show that has both “You’re Lost, Little Girl” and “Wild Child”, whether that’s the early or late show, as there seems to be some confusion as to which is which. thanx to anybody who could try to help us

    Report user
  28. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    May 18, 2013, 11:12 pm

    what are the very best versions of the Doors infamous 3/1/1969 show in Miami, Florida (USA) for which Jim Morrison was convicted of exposing himself? and what are very worst versions to avoid? thanks to anybody who could helpfully let us know

    Report user
  29. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    May 18, 2013, 11:11 pm

    anybody know how Mid Valley’s “Reverse G” 2CD version of the Derek & the Dominos 11/26/1970 show in Cincinnati, Ohio (USA) compares to the Hiwatt label’s “Everyday We Play the Blues” 2CD digi-pack version? there’s one website that claims that Hiwatt’s version is a little better, but another site has Mid Valley’s version rated substantially higher. we already have the Hiwatt version, and like it, but we’re wondering if the Mid Valley version may be worth pursuing as a possible upgrade, so thanks to anybody who could kindly inform us

    Report user
  30. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    March 29, 2013, 10:37 pm

    anybody familar with the pro-CDR label Ace of Spades, who have released many Roger Waters titles of his live Wall shows the last few years? are they a legit pro-CDR label like Amity or LEM? and BTW, what does “LEM” stand for? or is Ace of Spades just a cheesy DIY amateur operation? if I order an Ace of Spades CDR title, how would I be able to tell whether it’s a legit original pro-CDR that’s a true commercial release or just a non-commercial piece of crud done by some DIY amateur or amateurs? thanks to anybody who could help me, or at least try to

    Report user
  31. Profile photo of relayer67
    relayer67 says
    February 24, 2013, 6:29 am

    As many of you are finding out the sad news is true, our Friend Gerard Sparaco has passed away. Like many of you I started reading his reviews and comments on the Underground Uprising site and was elated when he began this site, a place where collectors can go and read about new releases in an open forum. He gave me the chance to contribute and supported me through his possitive feedback with each new review. My condolances go out to his family and he will certainly be very missed.

    Report user
  32. Profile photo of Argenteum Astrum
    February 24, 2013, 4:31 am

    Yes, this is true and I am very sorry saying this to everyone.

    Report user
  33. Profile photo of jerrythebarman
    February 23, 2013, 11:50 pm

    Looks like it is, classicrawker, just googled it. So very sad, my thoughts are with Mr. Sparaco’s loved ones.

    Report user
  34. Profile photo of classicrawker
    February 23, 2013, 6:51 pm

    Sorry to hear of your health issues DLee. I always enjoyed your posts so I wish you the best.

    Also heard an unconfirmd rumour that the owner of this site ourown G. Sparaco has passed away is this true?

    Report user
  35. Profile photo of Stuart
    Stuart says
    February 23, 2013, 2:37 pm

    Very sorry to hear of your departure DLee and sorry to hear of your condition. Your contributions to the site have been appreciated still and will be missed. Take care.

  36. Profile photo of DLee
    DLee says
    February 22, 2013, 10:17 pm

    PS – please don’t e-mail me, as I likely won’t be able to reply to it – let alone just open & read it.

    Report user
  37. Profile photo of DLee
    DLee says
    February 22, 2013, 10:16 pm

    I just want to say to most everyone here what’s likely a final goodbye, as this may very well be the final time that I ever bother or annoy anyone here (again), as I’ve had very serious/severe health problems for many years that have taken a very bad turn for the worst recently – I may have only several or so more days to live. Thanks very much for everything, & I wish you nothing but the best for the future. I apologize very much (very sorry) for all the annoyances, etc., etc. I tried to help out as much as I reasonably could whenever I was able to, but unfortunately my presence here had become unwelcome a long time ago, and I should have departed way back then. As I did a couple previous times a few years ago, I do have a couple/few rare P. Floyd-related recordings that Godfatherecords (sic) may be interested in, but most likely I will be unable to get them passed on to the Godfather or anyone else, very unfortunately. Anyway, again, thanks & best wishes. Goodbye.

    Report user
  38. Profile photo of sionxxii
    sionxxii says
    February 6, 2013, 1:38 pm

    Anyone, besides me, seen the King Crimson LTIA box set??? It’s got a very Godfather kinda vibe to it.

    Report user
  39. Profile photo of DLee
    DLee says
    February 3, 2013, 12:15 am

    OK, then by any chance does anyone have the complete Roger Waters live show in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA on Nov. 13th, 1987, either as a 3-pro-CDR (apparently it doesn’t exist on factory-pressed original silver, unfortunately) or in any lossless audio file formats, such as FLAC or SHN? I don’t necessarily want to buy it/them or trade for it/them (at least not yet), but anyone at least have it/them? Thanks to anyone who could just let me know. You can e-mail me at DLee122298["at"]aol["dot"]com

    Report user
  40. Profile photo of classicrawker
    January 23, 2013, 5:12 am

    I don’t know DLee? but there are so many I am guessing they are MP3 format to save space.

    Report user
  41. Profile photo of DLee
    DLee says
    January 22, 2013, 1:02 am

    OK, then how about any recordings of Roger Waters live shows of his 1987 Radio KAOS tour that are at least decent in quality, other than the Quebec 1987-11-07 radio broadcast? I may even be willing to settle for pro-CDR’s if nothing on factory-pressed original silver has ever been released. Thanks.

    Report user
  42. Profile photo of DLee
    DLee says
    January 22, 2013, 12:58 am

    Classicrawker, are those live shows at/on http://tela.sugarmegs.org/alpha/Nu.html in lossless format? Thanks.

    Report user
  43. Profile photo of classicrawker
    January 5, 2013, 5:05 pm

    Check out this website with thousands ofstreaming live shows

    http://tela.sugarmegs.org/alpha/Nu.html

    Report user
  44. Profile photo of DLee
    DLee says
    January 5, 2013, 12:29 am

    If there aren’t any more such superb boot recordings of Roger Waters live, then how about David Gilmour live, other than the ones reviewed on this excellent site (CMR) & other than the radio broadcast of Gilmour’s July 12th, 1984 show in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA, which I finally managed to obtain on original silver a couple weeks ago? Thanks.

    Report user
  45. Profile photo of DLee
    DLee says
    January 5, 2013, 12:29 am

    Anyone know of any radio broadcasts, soundboards, or superb-quality audience recordings of Roger Waters shows other than the ones reviewed on this excellent site (CMR), other than the radio broadcast of his Nov. 7th, 1987 show in Quebec, Canada, which I eventually managed to acquire a few months ago, & other than those from his live Wall tour(s) of 2010-12? And maybe especially those from his “Radio KAOS” tour(s) in the late ’80’s, since I seem to remember at least 1 other superb-quality boot-recorded “Radio KAOS” show listed on the late Wojtek’s Floyd boot site, which I personally thought was the very best Floyd boot site ever & very fortunately managed to remain online even many months after Wojtek’s tragic passing away due to an illness a few years ago, but very unfortunately became defunct, apparently, sometime in early 2012. Thanks.

    Report user
  46. Profile photo of aleebee
    aleebee says
    January 3, 2013, 11:49 am

    On that subject, I Had Aerosmith ‘Texxas Jam’ (Pigeon Gig-08), and still have Deep Purple ‘Machine Head Live’ (Pigeon Gig-07). Each was lifted from the Japanese laserdisc release, so they do not necessarily have the correct running-order (ie, it follows the LD) or full LD soundtrack (CD timing-constraints), but the sound itself was excellent. Packaging was horrible, and I am pleased things have moved along, but I was always pleased with my Pigeon CDs.

    Report user
  47. Profile photo of DLee
    DLee says
    January 3, 2013, 1:02 am

    A few weeks ago, I finally managed to get a factory-pressed silver original of the Cream 1CD “Farewell Concert” on/by the Japanese label Pigeon (GIG-02), and although it took me well over a year, maybe even over 2 years to find it, it was very much worth the very long wait! WOW – It sounds much much better than I expected it to, considering the relatively poor sound quality rating it had been given, and Cream’s final, farewell performance was great. Very highly recommended, but unfortunately nearly impossible to find, apparently, as it seems that it’s hard enough even just to find info on the ‘Net for just about all of the 15 releases in the Pigeon Live Series – let alone actually finding an actual CD of one.

    Report user
  48. Profile photo of solly
    solly says
    December 20, 2012, 7:54 pm

    relayer67,
    Thanks for the link. Thats one fascinating article.

    Report user
  49. Profile photo of relayer67
    relayer67 says
    November 27, 2012, 3:38 pm

    Here is link to an article on the Greatful Dead tape archive, found it quite interesting http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2012/11/26/121126fa_fact_paumgarten?currentPage=all

    Report user
  50. Profile photo of Careful Axeman Eugene
    July 28, 2012, 7:03 pm

    Stuart, thank u for that info…i’ll check it out

    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.