RSS Feed

Pink Floyd – Atomic Heart Beat In The Hall (Godfather Records GR 786/787)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (4 votes cast)

Atomic Heart Beat In The Hall (Godfather Records GR 786/787)

Town Hall, Birmingham, England – February 11th, 1970

Disc 1 (46:18):  Embryo, Main Theme from More, Tuning, Careful With That Axe Eugene, Sysyphus

Disc 2 (61:08):  Heart Beat Pig Meat, Quicksilver, Moonhead, The Violent Sequence, Set The Controls For The Heart Of The Sun, The Amazing Pudding

Atomic Heart Beat In The Hall documents Pink Floyd’s February 11th, 1970 show in Birmingham, England.  The sound quality of the tape starts off quite rough and unpleasant, but quickly improves to be quite listenable and enjoyable.  The entire show was pressed before on The Amazing Pudding (Highland HL 208/209) and the latter half of the show can be found as bonus tracks on Monopoly (1996 DYNAMO GULAG SUBOTNIK, MOSCOW).

There are several reasons why this show is important.  It contains very early performances of both “Atom Heart Mother” still called “The Amazing Pudding” at this point and with a drum break, and “The Embryo.”  Second, there are several very rare live performances of “Sysyphus” and “The Main Theme (from More).”

The most interesting part is the twenty-five minute long piece that starts off the second disc.  It starts off with “Heart Beat Pig Meat” from the soundtrack to the film Zabriskie Point and leads into “The Violent Sequence,” the precursor to “Us & Them” on Dark Side Of The Moon.  It’s the longest performance of the piece and most interesting given the incorporated musical themes.  Godfather utilize their gorgeous tri-fold cardboard gatefold sleeve with copious liner notes written by their Pink Floyd expert Alex The Gnome.  

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

Pink Floyd - Atomic Heart Beat In The Hall (Godfather Records GR 786/787), 5.0 out of 5 based on 4 ratings

7 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. sionxxii says
    December 4, 2013, 7:40 am

    Has an anyone heard the Sigma version?

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. October 20, 2012, 3:33 am

    From what I heard the title is sourced from newly discovered low gen copy. All previous titles were sourced from hissy high gen dubs that are floating around since late 1970s and this is the very first time low gen is circulated. The only difference I found is that on the older transfers/titles there’s a short snippet of Right’s organ just before ATH and new version does not have this what might meant there’s better sounding and more complete copy somewhere and maybe it will appear somewhere in the future.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. wgpsec says
    October 18, 2012, 12:36 pm

    Great set list for this show, worth the purchase alone. I agree, it’s not the greatest sounding document but I found it to be rather enjoyable as well. From what I understand, Godfather has done wonders with this tape. Excellent work!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  4. relayer67 says
    October 17, 2012, 2:49 pm

    I agree with all the above, a great release. Now if they could do Croydon from January 1970 we would be convered for early 1970

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  5. gsparaco says
    October 17, 2012, 1:02 pm

    That’s why Godfather is the greatest label in the world…

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. ROBERTO says
    October 17, 2012, 12:48 pm

    i bought this cd at the recent Milan Record & Cd fair in italy few days ago,going back home i put it in my car player quite dubious about quality, i listened to the songs of this show many times both on vinyl and cd from back releases but i was really surprised : i realised that all flaws of the other releases i listened to were absolutely cancelled and it was really enjoyable, once again the mastering job was a real labour of love! This is not the most easier cd to listen but in fact it’s one of the most interesting , totally recommended for people loving Floyd experimenting on stage

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  7. sionxxii says
    October 17, 2012, 5:52 am

    The Fantasic Voyage cd from Moonage Daydream has a superior version of The Violent Sequence and The Amazing Pudding from 23 Jan.1970, Libv at Theatre des Champs-Elysees – Paris, France, but it appears that’s all they recorded. Oh, and for a few moments during The Amazing Pudding, Pink Floyd actually becomes Yes.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.