online casino spiele at free mode to learn about different types of betting strategies adopted by blackjack players. Enjoy the thrilling wins at the best casino sites casino sites by just placing bets and spinning a wheel. By roulette online game sites you can earn exciting prizes while having fun. Take the huge welcome bonus during sign-up to the http://gambarunik.co/?p=no-deposit-casino-bonuses, it is given to the new players.
 
RSS Feed

Pink Floyd – Exposed In The Light Of Landover (Godfather Records GR396/397)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 2.2/5 (3 votes cast)

Exposed In The Light Of Landover (Godfather Records GR396/397)

Capital Centre, Landover, MD – June 9th, 1975

Disc 1 (72:48):  Raving & Drooling, You Gotta Be Crazy, Shine On You Crazy Diamond (pt 1-5), Have a Cigar, Shine On You Crazy Diamond (pt 6-9), Speak to Me, Breathe, On the Run

Disc 2 (73:34):  Time, Breathe (Reprise), Great Gig in the Sky, Money, Us & Them, Any Colour You Like, Brain Damage, Eclipse, Echoes

Pink Floyd’s 1975 US tour occurred in two parts.  The first ended with five shows at the LA Forum in the end of April.  After more than a  month break the second half began on June 7th in Atlanta followed by two nights, June 9th and 10th, at the Capital Centre in Landover, Maryland.  The first concert exists complete and only the first half is in circulation for the second.  Exposed In The Light Of Landover is the first silver release of either of the Maryland shows.

In the past, high generation copies of the tape were in circulation which ran too slow and were missing “Speak To Me.”  Godfather use a legitimate low generation tape which runs on pitch, has the complete Dark Side suite and sounds much better.  In general this sound quality is very good, bright and clear.  The high end frequencies are emphasized over the lower and some detail is occasionally lost but on the whole it is every enjoyable sounding recording.

The performance sounds like they took a month long break and they’re getting back into it.  They retain the same setlist as before and attempt some novel screams and noises in “Raving & Drooling.”  The but second song, “You Gotta Be Crazy,” is very slow and uninspired, sounding as if they’re taking the number by rote than for any artistic statement.  The haze continues into “Shine On You Crazy Diamond (pt 1-5),” but given the piece’s pace and theme is entirely appropriate.  They do nothing less than create an entire aural world which the crowd gladly joins.

“Have A Cigar” is the only linking piece played on the so-called Wish You Were Heretour.  Waters normally has big problems reaching the high notes as he does here, but it’s still a good performance as is the finale of the first half “Shine On You Crazy Diamond (pt6-9).”  It is important to note that the pieces played in the first half are all new and are constantly evolving throughout the tours in 1974 and 1975. 

The second half comes off much better with a tight Dark Side suite. The performances at this time are characterized by an extreme expansion of the numbers played in the latter half.  “The Great Gig In The Sky” is reaches past seven, “Money” more than ten and a nine minute  jam sessions in “Any Colour You Like.”  The pices’ popularity ensures that the audience are more motivated and vocal, but they calm down again for the gravity of the epic “Echoes” played as the only encore.  Exposed In The Light Of Landover is in a tri-fold gatefold sleeve and is another very good Pink Floyd title on the Godfather label.  

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

Pink Floyd - Exposed In The Light Of Landover (Godfather Records GR396/397), 2.2 out of 5 based on 3 ratings

22 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Avatar of wgpsec
    wgpsec says
    September 29, 2009, 11:40 am

    Just got this one and while I agree there is some rust in the performance, it is really nice to see this source making its silver debut and the packaging is certainly up to Godfather’s high standards.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  2. Avatar of gsparaco
    gsparaco says
    August 15, 2009, 6:27 pm

    Regarding Osaka Triple, yes, there will be a review posted sometime this week.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Avatar of lug_nutz6
    lug_nutz6 says
    August 15, 2009, 5:43 pm

    YES. Plomerus has summed it up. If you were to stick to collecting just one labels Floyd releases you would be missing out on a lot. On a separate note will ‘Osaka Triple’ be reviewed? I am super curious about this one…

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Avatar of Plomerus
    Plomerus says
    August 15, 2009, 8:43 am

    Actually, I’d say both Godfather AND Sigma truly serve both collectors AND the common listener – it all depends on the release.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Avatar of Argenteum Astrum
    August 15, 2009, 5:56 am

    I think Plomerus has right – Godfather is the label dedicated to more common listener while Sigma/Sirene are Floyd-dedicated efforts. But this didn’t implicate anything wrong – it’s just the matter of anyone’s choice and preference. Personally I think Godfather did a great job putting an unreleased source and we should be grateful for that. And I bet that someday Sigma/Sirene rerelease this material in its raw and unaltered form too.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Avatar of aleebee
    aleebee says
    August 14, 2009, 2:38 pm

    And please DO keep detailing ‘every single cut, warble, fade, etc’ as this influences my decision. :)

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. Avatar of Plomerus
    Plomerus says
    August 13, 2009, 5:30 pm

    I stand by my statement that Sigma/Sirene and related are the ultimate in Floyd…on the basis of sound quality, completeness, attention to detail, and very careful mastering. Sure, there are labels with better packaging – but these releases are all about hearing, not fancy packaging right? Further, in my reviews, I make it a point to detail every single cut, warble, fade, etc. specifically for those of us who DO have 10 previous versions of a given show. Now, of course we all want more previously unreleased material on silver…but considering my last calculations, there are only about 74 additional shows from 1981 and prior that are known to exist on tape which haven’t been released in ANY form – many of which sound awful or are merely fragments. There are approximately 180 shows from the Gilmour-led era that also fall into this category, and the CDR-only Amity label (related to Sigma) has in fact been whittling away at these, but alas, no silver. All that being said, my theory is that ultimately between Sirene and Sigma, the intention IS to release definitive versions of EVERYTHING eventually…which in many cases does mean replacing inferior sounding releases from Highland, STTP, TSP, etc. as well as unearthing unreleased recordings. The bottom line for me is I rather have 1 version of each gig that sounds truly amazing, than a bunch of inferior versions from 15 years ago that are unlistenable. Upgrades are welcome. Previously unreleased shows are welcome. Direct copies are not generally. That’s my 10 pence on the matter.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. Avatar of aleebee
    aleebee says
    August 13, 2009, 3:55 pm

    Well, we’ll have to agree to disagree. :) I do find the Sigma titles often ARE definitive, eg for Alameda May 9th 1977 this was by a comparison of FIVE different silver titles. Of course, the ears used for the comparisons were mine but as I’ll be the one then listening to future plays, that’s fine. FTR, I have to get my Sigma’s mail order (no fairs or other outlets here, not for many a year) and they cost me considerably more than the equivalent of $60US, so, yes, in that respect, Roberto, I do consider you lucky! Some titles, on any label, shall become redundant: that’s the nature of the beast. Myself, I only want one copy of any gig but I want it to be the best there is. Sometimes I’ve been lucky and HAVEN’T already got several versions: I go straight to the best version. Ultimately, as with any hobby, you pays your money, you makes your choice!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. Avatar of relayer67
    relayer67 says
    August 13, 2009, 3:51 pm

    Consider this when you speak of titles being overated, I ordered a few that you have listed, labyrinths of corals caves for one. My only other silver title of this gig is the old Live in Montreux swinging pig that runs very slow and for me was an upgrade. The only copy of the Oakland 77 show I have is on the stonehenge label that is years old and I will upgrade in the future. I do applaude companies like Godfather who are releasing new product but find a need for upgrading older titles that I do not have. Ultimatly if you have a large collection some of the titles seem redundant but for other we are glad for some of these releases.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  10. Avatar of classicrawker
    August 13, 2009, 3:13 pm

    Well Roberto While I respect your opinion it would be interesting to hear what titles by what labels you feel are better quality to the Sigma titles you are saying are overrated? It is always welcome to get other opinions on quality as it the most subjective element of our hobby

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  11. Avatar of strummerville
    August 13, 2009, 10:45 am

    I hear what you’re saying Roberto, but surely you want the best sounding version available…? The time and effort that goes into restoring the sound, speed-correcting, patching glitches and drop-outs, smoothing transitions between different tape sources, isn’t it worth paying for a more pleasurable listening experience…? As for new and unreleased material rarely seeing the light of day, isn’t that the fault of hoarders rather than labels…?

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  12. Avatar of ROBERTO
    ROBERTO says
    August 13, 2009, 9:28 am

    wow! that’s a debate! well, i’d like to explain my opinion better: in a past review ( the “labytrinths of..” one) someone said “the pf top label”, i only guess that’s not correct, that’s the only label fully devoted to floyd but not so far to be the best one, if i take a look at the past 20 sigma titles, i only see a handful of them carrying unreleased ( on silver) stuff !! where’s the greatness? they only spend time in mastering and not in locating new stuff, and some of the older titles keep well the ground in front of newer ones. Wanna know overrated titles?” pink jungle”, “westworld”, “one flew..”,”animal cops”, “oakland”, “labyrinths of..”, “washington 71″, and i really could go on listing. i’m not a “tone snob” , i’m just looking at new unreleased stuff and that’s all!! neither packaging is so outstanding, “tarantura”,”empress valley”,”mid valley”, “hoochie coochie man”, “scorpio” and so on, in japan ,are still undefeated for it, this is for east. In the west there’s currently only the “godfatherecords “label ( and a couple of times “rover records”) providing value for money. No posters, no digipacks, no liner notes can( neither occasionally) be found on sigma titles, just a nice artwork on the front and back covers ( on a small piece of paper). sigma rereleased the hakone gig in the past: well, sirene , when issued it included a really excellent , exact(and perfect!) replica of the tour programme of the festival!! Wanna talk about prices for this stuff? i usually pick up a sigma title (a double cd)for 60$ ( and this dealer makes the same price for the “godfather..” one), maybe i’m lucky because , at the local fairs, i buy the “godfather..” double cds at 30$, but i contacted a wholesale dealer that usually provides me other live stuff and he guaranteed me that the “godfather.. “titles retail ( in shops)at 10-15$ dollars less than sigma ones. respect to all opinions , of course, but please don’t tell me anymore ” the definitive issue”, or “well worth having because it doesn’t carry that very little hiss at the first song” or stuff like that. Sure, that’s only my point of view but i wanna spend my hard-earned money in something new to me ,not the forth or fifth issue of a gig!!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  13. Avatar of Plomerus
    Plomerus says
    August 13, 2009, 8:36 am

    I’ve never had a problem identifying a Sigma release as “for completists only” or of lesser sound quality as appropriate in my reviews. The truth is, more often than not Sigma deliver fantastic releases, but some of the more recent releases are questionable indeed – moreso for the content rather than quality. There’s no disputing Godfather does an amazing job too, but in ALL cases, if something doesn’t sound fantastic, our reviews will say as much. Keep in mind also that reviews are the opinion of the reviewer – you might hear things differently, and that is what makes the discussions here so interesting.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  14. Avatar of eric99
    eric99 says
    August 13, 2009, 7:39 am

    I recently bought a CD-R myself that didn’t play and had to exchange it.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  15. Avatar of aleebee
    aleebee says
    August 12, 2009, 4:10 pm

    On a slight inside, as a Floyd collector I am pleased to be *getting* silvers: I also collect Aerosmith, Sabbath, Dio, Tull, Priest, Scorpions and there are some wonderful releases but. on. CDRs. I regularly have to return for exchange a CDR or 2 from a newly-arrived order, due to burn errors. Saddest part of all is that one of the major new labels for some of those bands named (Shades) started off with silvers. It’s not like they cost any less, either! Not that I’m defending rubbish silvers, of course, but we all know which we prefer.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  16. Avatar of eric99
    eric99 says
    August 12, 2009, 5:00 am

    I think the reviews have been very balanced. Sigma is a Floyd label and have filled in spots for collectors, which have been clearly stated here by the reviewer with the best available version at the time. Believe me, there’s some serious “tone snobs” here (that’s a compliment!) who will give their opinion on quality, and keep in mind the recording technology of the given time. Can you imagine lugging around a reel to reel deck into a concert these days? Try getting past a metal detector.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  17. Avatar of DLee
    DLee says
    August 11, 2009, 7:22 pm

    I’ve regularly bought Floyd CD’s on both Sigma & Godfather labels, as well as those on other labels, and Sigma discs are either no more expensive than those of Godfather or other labels, or only a couple/few U.S. Dollars more in price. And I don’t think Sigma releases have been “hyped” here that much more than those of Godfatherecords – no one is being forced to buy Sigma items (or any other boot products). Collectors have varying personal preferences, and whether you prefer Sigma or not, they have their own “niche” in the Floyd boot-collecting community that many appreciate – especially as a replacement for Highland as the most prolific producer, & esp. for recordings that can be upgraded one way or another.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  18. Avatar of aleebee
    aleebee says
    August 11, 2009, 3:58 pm

    I think the reviews have always been balanced, Roberto: there are some titles I WON’T be buying because the reviewer rates them as ‘for completists’ or has mentioned the SQ as being less than VG. However, all the Sigma I have bought have, on listening, been upgrades on earlier titles. The only one where I prefer the original is Highland’s Fillmore rather than Sigma’s Westworld. That is, of course, only MY opinion. ;)

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  19. Avatar of LedMan
    LedMan says
    August 11, 2009, 1:29 pm

    Roberto I have quite a few Sigma releases that I bought based on reviews on this site and I think most were accurate.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  20. Avatar of gsparaco
    gsparaco says
    August 11, 2009, 11:03 am

    Roberto, could you be more specific? And remember these articles are opinions, not scientific data.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  21. Avatar of ROBERTO
    ROBERTO says
    August 11, 2009, 9:37 am

    GREAT JOB GODFATHERECORDS!! AT LAST AN UNREALEASED GIG ON SILVER, I’M TIRED OF SEEING SIGMA PRINTING AGAIN AND AGAIN OLDER TITLES ( EVEN IF THEY ADD SOME SONGS) AT A REALLY EXPENSIVE PRICE AND HAVING WONDERFUL REVIEWS. FINALLY SOMETHING NEW AND ENJOYABLE ( AND NOT FROM SIGMA)!! HOWEVER I AGREE WITH THE REVIEW WHEN STATING THAT THE SECOND PART IS MUCH BETTER THAN FIRST ONE, BUT OVERALL IT’S A REALLY GOOD ( EXPERIMENTAL) CONCERT. ONE LAST FACT , I BOUGHT SOME SIGMA TITLES AFTER READING THESE MAGNIFICENT REVIEWS; WELL ,WHEN LISTENED TO THEM I REALISED THAT THE REVIEWERS HYPED UP A LOT THESE TITLES, I WONDER IF THESE REVIEWERS LISTEN , WITH SOME PREJUDICES, TO SOME STUFF AND WITH DIFFERENT ( WELL DISPOSED)EARS TO SOME OTHER RELEASES. ARE YOU DOING WELL YOUR JOB? THE DEBATE IS OPEN…

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  22. Avatar of langbroek
    langbroek says
    August 10, 2009, 10:37 am

    Again the godfather release a excellent one.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.