RSS Feed

New Who and Stones DVDs.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)

Who’d have thought we’d still be buying DVDs too?

14073600312_4d2b390fcd_o

From the Johanna label comes a more fleshed out version of the Who’s rabble rousing appearance at a little festival in the Catskills you may have heard of.

Billed as an extended version, the DVD features the fullest version of the video that was recorded of this performance plus additional black and white alternate angles with time codes.

20140501_bb6a11

20140501_17475c

From the Nanker label (The same label that released the official Stones downloads on silver disk?) come nights 2 and 3 of the Stones recent shows at the Tokyo Dome. Filmed in HD, DVDs are used for cost reasons apparently though the pressing of blu-rays may not be a widespread for some of our producers.

Long standing patrons of the audio will welcome some visual accompaniment too we assume

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

4 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of solly
    solly says
    May 6, 2014, 10:25 am

    Thanks Stuart. I agree the 9/29/69 gig is a great one. I have the Hiwatt version entitled “Amazing Journey” which was released in 2002. Being that its from the pre FM tapes ,it sounds fantastic and has been the template for later versions of this show.

    I am currently enjoying the New Jersey 1982 concert. I was at this show and its always fun to find a release that not only sounds awesome but can bring back memories of a great time.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of solly
    solly says
    May 6, 2014, 5:59 am

    I have no idea why my post is here 3x. I only hit submit once. Sorry.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
    • Profile photo of Stuart
      Stuart says
      May 6, 2014, 6:48 am

      No worries solly, I’ve corrected it. Thanks for the info. I missed out on that – The Dutch shows always seem to be winners. The much – booted ‘Tommy’ show at the Concertgerbouw in Amsterdam is always thrilling to hear.

      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Profile photo of solly
    solly says
    May 6, 2014, 5:55 am

    In addition to the new Woodstock title,Tommy Records has also released a silver pressed dvd called ” Grand Gala Du Pop 1973″, which presents The Who live at Voorburg . This is a major upgrade from the 4Reel dvd issued a few years ago. This disc also includes several bonus performances from the 1970’s that have popped up over the last couple of years.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.