mobile casino are useful for the new players and account holders for trying out their favorite games. Enjoy the thrilling wins at the best casino sites casino sites by just placing bets and spinning a wheel. By roulette online game sites you can earn exciting prizes while having fun. Take the huge welcome bonus during sign-up to the http://gambarunik.co/?p=no-deposit-casino-bonuses, it is given to the new players.
 
RSS Feed

The Rolling Stones: 1969-In Concert (Wonderland Records-WLR-2160)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 3.1/5 (5 votes cast)

1969-In Concert (Wonderland Records-WLR-2160)

Wonderland has just recently released another massive Stones project. This begins with the first performance with their newest member Mick Taylor replacing the departed Brian Jones. The first show was at Hyde Park London,7-5-69; a free show with Mick Jagger releasing butterflies as he read from Shelly in remembrance of Brian. This show well documented through the years is rough; few highlights with some glimpses of Taylor’s glass like leads to come. The second show is from l.a. 11-08-69; a much better performance with Taylor’s glass like leads showing up. The shows following are as listed: Oakland-11-9-69-1st show Oakland 11-9-69 2nd show (Booted many many times over the years)San Diego 11-10-69, Champaign, Illinois 11-15-69 including 5 tracks from the second Champaign show on disc 6.Disc 7 is from Detroit 11-24-69; disc 8 is from Baltimore 11-26-69; disc 9 th famous New York show at msg from 11-27-69 disc 10 Acet &DVD sources from “Get Yer Ya Yas Out” Disc 11 from west palm beach-11-30-69 and finally the “DEATH of the 60s Altamont,va 12-6-69.

The discs are housed in a 3d case very similar to WLR’S The Rolling Stones -Luve in the Sixties release.

The majority of the shows include the same set list with few changes excepting I’m Yours and I’m Hers from the London show. As far as quality goes all are very good to excellent audience tapes;especially for the era.Highlights include the 2nd show in Oakland with Mick Taylor’s slide on love in vain; the groove of the entire band hitting their stride on Sympathy for the Devil in Detroit; with the Oakland and MSG shows being the most impressive as a lot. Most collectors have these shows in hand as i write this, but it is quite pleasant to have them all in one nice package.

 

 

 

It comes with a booklet with track listings for each show and another booklet with many photos of the band during this era. This is worthwhile for any serious Stones collector as it marks their return to the US after a three year absence. The sound is far rougher and more rock’n’roll than during the Brian Jones era with many colors and textures gone forever; although it introduces the bulk of the music world to the polished fluid fret work of Mick Taylor (Formerly of Mayall’s Blues Breakers). All in all wonderful set worth purchasing as it is limited to 500 copies. venue listings are as follows:

Hyde Park: 7-5-1969
Eulogy for Brian Jones
I’m Yours and I’m Hers
Jumpin jack flash
Mercy Mercy
Stray cat blues
No expectations
I’m free
Down home girl
Love in vain
Loving cup
Honky tonk women
Midnight rambler
Satisfaction
Street fighting man
Sympathy for the devil

 disc 2-los angeles 2nd show,11-08-1969

Intro
Jumping jack flash
Carol
Sympathy for the devil
Stray cat blues
prodigal son
You gotta move
Love in vain
I’m free
Under my thumb
Midnight rambler
Live with me
Little queenie
Satisfaction
Honky tonk women
Street fighting man
disc 3-Oakland 11-09-1969
intro
Jumping jack flash
Prodigal son
you gotta move
Carol
Sympathy for the devil
Stray cat blues
Love in vain
I’m free
Under my thumb
Midnight rambler
Live with me
Little queenie
Honky tonk women
Satisfaction
Street Fighting man
disc 4-Oakland 2nd show,11-09-1969
intro
Jumping jack flash
Carol
Sympathy for the devil
Stray cat blues
Prodigalson
You gotta move
Love in vain
I’m free
Under my thumb
Midnightrambler
Live with me
Gimme shelter
Little Queenie
Satisfaction
Honky tonk women
Street fighting man
dusc5-san diego-11-10-1969
Jumping jack flash
Carol
Sympathy for the devil
Stray cat blues
Prodigalson
You gotta move
Love in vain
I’m free
Under my thumb
Midnight rambler
Live with me
Little Queenie
Satisfaction
Honky tonk women
Street fighting man
disc 6-Champaign,Illinois 11-15-1969
Imtro
Jumping jack flash
Carol
Sympathy for the devil
Stray cat blues
Love in vain
Prodigal son
You gotta move
Under my thumb
Midnight rambler
Little Queenie
Satisfaction
Honky tonk women
Street fighting man
Champaign,2nd show-11-15-1969
Midnight rambler
Little queenie
Satisfaction
Honky tonk women
Street fighting man
disc 7-Detroit,Michigan 11-24-1969
Jumping jack flash
Carol
Sympathy for the devil
Stray cat blues
Love in vain
Prodigalson
You gotta move
Under my thumb
Midnight rambler
Live with me
Little Queenie
Satisfaction
Honky tonk women
Street fighting man
Disc8-Baltimore,Maryland-11-26-1969
Jumping Jack flash
Carol
Sympathy for the devil
Stray cat blues
Love in vain
You gotta move
Uner my thumb-i’m free
Midnight rambler
Live with me
Satisfaction
Honky tonk women
Street fighting man
Bonus:
Prodigal son 11-28-1969-new york 2nd show
You gotta move-11-28-1969-New York 2nd show
Under my thumb-11-27-1969-new york
I’m free-11-27-1969, new york
Satisfaction-11-28-1969 new york 1st show
disc 9-New York 11-27-1969
Jumping jack flash
Carol
Sympathy for the devil
Stray cat blues
Love in vain
Produgal son
You gotta move
Under my thumb
Midnight rambler
Live with me
Little queenie
Satisfaction
Honky tonk women
Street fighting man
disc 10
Acet&SVD source from “Get Yer YaYas Out”
Jumping jack flash-11-27-1969-new york
Carol-11-28-1969-new york-2nd show
Stray cat blues=11-28-1969-new york 1st show
Love in vain-11-26-1969-Baltimore
Mifnight rambler-11-28-1969-new york 2nd sgow
Sympathy for the devil-11-28-1969-new york 1st show
Live with me-11-28-1969-new york-2nd show
Little queenie-11-28-1969-new york-1st show
Honky tonk women-11-27-1969 new york
Street fighting man 11-28-1969-new york 1st show
Prodigal son-11-27-1969-new york
You gotta move-11-27-1969-new york
Under my thumb-U’m free-11-28-1969-new york 1st show
Satisfaction-11-28-1969-new york 1st show
Sat it’s not you-11-27-1969-new york
disc 11-West Palm Beach,Florida-11-30-1969
Intro
Jumping jack flash
CVarol
Sympathy for the devil
Stray cat blues
Love in vain
auaner my thumb-I’m free
Midnight rambler
Gimme shelter
Luve with me
Little queenie
Satisfaction
Honky tonk women
Bonus:
Carol-11-28-1969-New York 2nd show
disc 12-Altamont,California 12-06-1969
Jumping jack flash
Carol
Sympate hy for the devil 1
Sympathy for the devil 2
The sun is shining
Stray cat blues
Love in vain
Under my thumb
Brown sugar
Midnight rambler
Luve with me
Gimme shelter
Little queenie
Satisfaction
Honky tonk women
Street fighting man

 

All in all an excellent collection with very good audience recordings; exceptional for 1969; guitars are up front, clear bass with charlie’s drums and Mick’s vocals all meshing well; a triumphant return to the states for “The Boys”; highlighted by the Msg shows with a superlative performance;p the beginning of the bootleg era as “Liver Than You’ll Ever Be” (lurch records) was so popular Rolling Stone reciewed it and basically forced the lovely Mr. Klein to release Get Yer Ua -Yas Out. The return to stage prominence by the Stones after a three year hiatus from the states. Sadly ending the sixties with the Altamont performance amidst acid fueled mayhem and the Hell’s Angels going ballistic upon the crowd and the groups perfotrming (Marty Balin;Jefferson Airplane) culmomating with the savage murder of Merddith Hunter ending the sixties on a less than favorable note. All in all excellent shows her Mick Taylor’s emergence as a “glass like lead player” with syperb slide on Love in Vain; the Stones proving they were perhaps the greatest r & r band in the world.
Pick this up; you’ll be happy you did in years tom come!!

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

The Rolling Stones: 1969-In Concert (Wonderland Records-WLR-2160), 3.1 out of 5 based on 5 ratings

10 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Avatar of pookie
    pookie says
    April 20, 2013, 3:43 pm

    Interesting comment on WLR!
    True the Stones 69 tour is audience recordings; most are way above average for 1969! Besides being many shows from the 1st usa tour since 1966 it showcases the great work of mick taylor (who replaced Brian Jones). I think this was the Stones best lineup (excluding the Brian years) to this date!!
    I wish they were soundboards… yet these shows are quite enjoyable. Do any better recordings from 69 exist for them; sure; this is just a historical piece with some the band being quite splendid!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Avatar of midnrambler
    April 7, 2013, 2:08 am

    “Pick this up; you’ll be happy you did in years to come!!”

    LOL! You’ll be happy if you saved your money and did NOT buy tha WLR crap!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Avatar of David B.
    David B. says
    August 24, 2011, 12:35 am

    Hello Pharaoh,
    Can You send Me an e-mail regarding the Allman Brothers Box? Thanks, DJB
    Bunded@BSCI.com

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Avatar of David B.
    David B. says
    August 24, 2011, 12:30 am

    Greetings Pharaoh,
    Can You send Me an e-mail as well concerning the Allman Brothers Box?
    Thanks, DJB
    Bunded@BSCI.com

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Avatar of mats22
    mats22 says
    August 9, 2011, 6:31 am

    Thanks for the review Pookie!
    This is so far my favourite Stones touring boxset by Wonderland. It’s also nice to have a copy of the tour program from 1969 included.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  6. Avatar of pookie
    pookie says
    August 8, 2011, 3:38 pm

    well; would you contact me to obtain it! I know this wonderful site is for entertainment and fun only but sure would love to have it; i hope administration isn’t mad at me for putting my email here; only want what everyone else here does the love of the music which these superb writers allow us to have knowledge of the recordings; some fine folks here!!
    Michael
    pacyanke@yahoo.com

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  7. Avatar of pharaoh
    pharaoh says
    August 8, 2011, 3:00 pm

    The Allman Brothers “Duane Allman Years” sold out long ago but I do know one vendor who still has copies. If you are a fan of the band and don’t already have copies of these SB’s I highly recommend searching one out as all the SB”s are VG to excellent quality and that band was amazing

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  8. Avatar of importdiscs
    August 7, 2011, 7:19 pm

    This Rolling Stones title is already sold out, so get that Allman Bros. if you still can. Most Wonderland boxes sell out immediately!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  9. Avatar of pookie
    pookie says
    August 7, 2011, 3:57 pm

    Very enjoyable listens classicrawker; the Detroit show is superb performance wise; all are quite easy on the ears; excellent mixes between the instruments and mick’s vocals. I have contemplated the WLR release of The Allman Brothers, as those (My opinion) are the finest years in their existnce; Duane is sorely missed!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  10. Avatar of classicrawker
    August 6, 2011, 12:54 pm

    Wonderland puts out some nice box sets, as I have the Allman Brothers Duane Allman Years 15cd box set of SB recordings which is excellent, but really all they do is repackage other labels releases so I expect that all of these Stones shows are recycled silver releases. That being said I have all the shows in this box set except the Detroit show and I expect they all are very enjoyable listens………..

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.