When you plan your next trip, consider the welcome bonus. betfair exchange games will be good for the players to earn lots of extra money. Enjoy the fantastic 3D graphics and sound at our no hay comentarios: sites and be thrilled by the best features. Enjoy your favorite live roulette game by the help of siyuwu.net/?p=no-deposit-casino application, which remains completely optimized with Android and IOS devices.
 
RSS Feed

The Rolling Stones – Get Yer Ya-Ya’s Out! (Dog N Cat)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 2.3/5 (3 votes cast)

Get Yer Ya-Ya’s Out! (Dog N Cat)

(65:51):  Introduction, Jumpin’ Jack Flash, Carol, Sympathy For The Devil, Stray Cat Blues, Love In Vain, Prodigal Son, You Gotta Move, Under My Thumb – I’m Free, Midnight Rambler, Live With Me, Little Queenie, (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction, Honky Tonk Women, Street Fighting Man

Get Yer Ya-Ya’s Out 40th Anniversary edition released November 2009 was a disappointment.  The most desirable release would have been all three concerts used for the album (November 26th Baltimore and November 27th and 28th in New York) complete and unedited.  It would have been great to hear the Baltimore “Sympathy For The Devil,” one of the longest and most dramatic versions, from a professional recording.     

Even though the boxset contains 3CD and 1DVD, there are only five new Stones tracks and one disc devoted to BB King and Ike & Tina Turner, the opening acts.  Reviews on Amazon are bitterly divided.  The positive reviews point out the album’s importance while negative reviews point out the paucity of new material and another missed opportunity.   

This release edits together all of the professional sources from the boxset and places them in correct running order.  One of the niches occupied by unofficial releases like this is to correct the mistakes made by the record company and / or artist.  This is an effort that should have been done by the record company.  But since they dropped the ball Dog N Cat gives the collector close to what they want. 

The sound quality goes without saying simply spectacular.  Get Yer Ya-Ya’s Out remains one of the most important live albums produced.  Not only does it illustrate the destructive power of the Stones in the late sixties, but the album is important for stating that live albums can make a significant artistic statement and do not need to be catalogue filler.

Dog N Cat are supposedly behind this.  There is nothing to actually indicate that on the artwork.  There is no catalogue number and no mention of the label anywhere.  The artwork does betray their work, however.  They may have done this because it is technically a pirate since it contains official material.  While the Stones seem lax about actual bootlegs, they are strict about pirated material and Dog N Cat probably want to avoid the situation Empress Valley encountered several years ago with their DVD Naked.

The street price is much below the regular asking price for boot releases and is comparable with official releases.  Obtaining this one is a no-brainer for any Stones collectors. 

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

The Rolling Stones - Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! (Dog N Cat), 2.3 out of 5 based on 3 ratings

6 Comments

Leave A Reply
  1. Profile photo of roertd7
    roertd7 says
    August 5, 2010, 11:27 am

    Well, we are shortly going to get an official DVD release of ‘Ladies & Gentlemen’ from 1972 with, so I read, some extras as well such as the Montreux rehearsals. Pity we won’t get a live CD of the same name to go with it, but it’ll be good to get a decent DVD instead of the blurry copy I’ve got with washed out and bleeding colours.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  2. Profile photo of erikbt
    erikbt says
    July 28, 2010, 4:52 pm

    Lordbud, my comments were only meant for the 1ST half of your post. I find GYYYO to be a absolutely terrific live album, and I don’t understand the fuzz about some overdubs (not just from you – but from lots of reviews and messageboards). It doesn’t ruin any listening pleasure I have of that album.
    When it comes to the rest of your post (as well as the post you just wrote); I agree 100% with you
    “Exile Deluxe” was a BIG disappointment for me too, btw – to say the least. And GYYYO Deluxe COULD had been a LOT better than it was. But….at least we did get 5 new & real live tracks. Unlike Exile Deluxe…..which was….well I don’t find the proper words!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  3. Profile photo of Lordbud
    Lordbud says
    July 28, 2010, 3:31 pm

    Okay, Erik, point taken. From the dearth of truly new material to the lack of factory pressed newly shared torrented material, I find the “real” bootleg industry is rather at more than a crossroads. Yes, I’m sure DAC’s YaYa is a nice listen but I want the real thing. Wyman, ABKCO, and the Rolling Stones Organization all have total access to vintage immenently listenable soundboard recordings of the Mick Taylor era – without overdubs. And it’s not even legal considerations that are keeping these recordings from being officially released. It’s Multi-multi millionaire Mick Jagger who apparently can’t stand for the public to hear the glory of the Rolling Stones with Mick Taylor live without overdubs. Observation is what I’m relaying. “Complaining” is a judgmental term used to describe the opinions of someone you don’t agree with.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  4. Profile photo of erikbt
    erikbt says
    July 25, 2010, 4:31 am

    an official live release WITH overdubs? Good grief, what’s the need of complaining about this, Lordbud? Nearly ALL live albums have overdubs. Isn’t it possible to enjoy a record without thinking about “overdubs” ? You probably like Exile On Main Street….? Ever occoured to you that official studio albums are made of overdubs over overdubs over overdubs?
    At least GYYYO has NO overdubs, apart from the vocals/choir. So it’s a mighty “pure” live-souvenir of MSG (and Baltimore) 1969.
    Concerning this “DAC” release…..it’s a tremendous listen, even though it’s just a copy of official release – putting the tracks in correct order means a WHOLE lot for the overall listening-experience.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user
  5. Profile photo of gsparaco
    gsparaco says
    July 24, 2010, 12:20 pm

    I do agree with you. The overdubs on this recording are present. That goes without saying. It would have been truly amazing if Dog N Cat were to release the unedited soundboard themselves.

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. Profile photo of Lordbud
    Lordbud says
    July 24, 2010, 11:58 am

    If Ya-Ya’s was a live album I’d say hey this is a pretty good compilation whether one considers it a pirate or a bootleg. But as anyone who has read Chris M.’s excellent analysis of the Ya-Ya’s material you’d know the vocals are all overdubbed including totally out of place Keith backing vocals on songs he never sang live on. A good deal of the guitar parts were re-worked/overdubbed in the studio as well. So “live” isn’t really the proper term to use to describe this album and the related “bonus” tracks. As the reviewer states it would have been a true epiphany had the three or four master soundboards used to compile this album been used in their entirety as a deluxe boxset edition. Ah, well when you have 2009 Mick Jagger overdubbing his voice onto 1972 Exile tracks and 2009 Keith overdubbing guitar onto the same you realize they’re never going to let any of the fans hear the power and the glory that were the Stones with Mick Taylor unadulterated. I mean really? What goddamn business does Old Fart Jagger think he has adding his voice today onto vintage tracks at all? Unbelievable. Exile Remickstered? Hell no!

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    Report user

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.