Eagle Rock Commemorates A Classic, ROY ORBISON: THE LAST CONCERT

Eagle Rock Commemorates A Classic

An Intimate Experience – Live, Untouched, In Concert for the Last Time
~ August 10, 2010~

Instantly recognizable in vocals, songwriting and style, Roy Orbison was a musical pioneer.  One of the few artists to have worldwide recognition in all forms of music – pop, rock ‘n’ roll, spoken word, and country – he received Grammys in all categories, as well as a Lifetime Achievement Award. On August 10, Eagle Rock Entertainment will pay homage to Roy Orbison upon the release of The Last Concert CD [MSRP $13.98].
Originally released as a limited run via iTunes in 2008 to commemorate the 20th anniversary of his passing, The Last Concert is now available on CD for the first time. Recorded on December 4, 1988 in Cincinnati , just two days before his sudden death, this was the last time Roy ever performed. This collection of fourteen songs, including seven top ten singles, is the exact order of his show that evening. This includes one of the most loved Rock ‘n Roll songs ever, “Oh, Pretty Woman,” as well as his Grammy-Award Winning “Crying” and “Dream Baby.” This historic performance is untouched by mixing and enhancements – it’s pure, honest, unmistakable Roy .
Following Roy ‘s induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1987, in 1989, Roy became the second singer to ever simultaneously have two posthumous Top 5 albums (King of Hearts, Mystery Girl) on the Billboard charts (the first was Elvis Presley). In addition to his inductions into the Nashville Songwriter’s Hall of Fame and Nashville Walk Of Fame, Orbison was recently honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. In 2008, the Library of Congress added “Oh, Pretty Woman” to the National Recording Registry.
The Last Concert CD is a rarity in these days and times because it is historically correct-it is a trip down memory lane, capturing one of the best rock ‘n roll singers of all time. You don’t really get to know an artist until you go to a live performance, and this particular concert, on December 4th, 1988 was the very last time that Roy Orbison performed. It is an incredible example of Roy ‘s on-stage presentation, in which he always gave stellar, near-chilling performances. It is a must-have in any record collection.
Track Listing:
1.) Only The Lonely
2.) Leah
3.) Dream Baby
4.) In Dreams
5.) Mean Woman Blues
6.) Blue Bayou
7.) Candyman
8.) Crying
9.) Ooby Dooby
10.) Go, Go, Go (Down The Line)
11.) It’s Over
12.) Working For The Man
13.) Lana
14.) Oh, Pretty Woman

Share This Post

Like This Post


Related Posts

1 Comment

Average User Rating:
Showing 0 reviews
  1. Thank you for the head-up
    I (as well as a lot of other people, I presume) have a copy of this concert/broadcast on VHS. And indeed; it’s a fantastic view and listen. About time we got an official DVD release of this concert. Roy Orbison was a milestone….his voice was and still is unmatchable – for the songs he sung, anyway.


Leave a Reply

Thanks for submitting your comment!

Recent Comments

Editor Picks