RSS Feed

Rolling Stones – Hound Dog: The Lost Handsome Girls (no label)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 1.5/5 (2 votes cast)

Hound Dog:  The Lost Handsome Girls (no label)

Disc 1 [79:56]:  1. Introductions Lexington 29th June 1978, 2. Let It Rock Detroit 6th July 1978 (Alternate Mix), 3. All Down The Line Detroit 6th July 1978, 4. Honky Tonk Women Detroit 6th July 1978, 5. Star Star Detroit 6th July 1978, 6. When The Whip Comes Down Detroit 6th July 1978 (Alternate Mix), 7. Lies Detroit 6th July 1978, 8. Miss You Detroit 6th July 1978 (Alternate Mix), 9. Beast Of Burden Detroit 6th July 1978, 10. Just My Imagination Detroit 6th July 1978 (Alternate Mix), 11. Shattered Detroit 6th July 1978, 12. Love In Vain Detroit 6th July 1978 (Alternate Mix), 13. Support Member Introductions Houston 19th July 1978, 14. Tumbling Dice Houston 19th July 1978, 15. Happy Houston 19th July 1978, 16. Brown Sugar Lexington 29th June 1978, 17. Jumping Jack Flash Lexington 29th June 1978, (Bonus Track) 18. Hound Dog Lexington 29th June 1978

(Track 1,16-18)
Rupp Arena, Lexington, Kentucky 29th June 1978

(Track 2-12)
Masonic Temple Auditorium, Detroit, Michigan 6th July 1978

(Track 13-15)
Sam Houston Coliseum, Houston, Texas 19th July 1978

This no label single disc 1978 compilation of sorts presents in mostly very good to, at times, excellent soundboard quality. I compared this release to the “Handsome Girls” 4 CD Box Set on the Dandelion label [DL 030/31/32/33].

The no label issue features 11 tracks for the Stones July 6, 1978 Detroit concert. 4 of these tracks: “When The Whip Comes Down”, “Beast Of Burden”, “Shattered” + “Love In Vain” are not to be found on the Dandelion Box set for 7-6-78. The no label lists “When The Whip Comes Down” + “Love In Vain” as alternate mixes but I have not heard them on other labels to compare. There is nothing new for the 7-19-78 Houston concert on the no label disc. “Hound Dog” played on 6-29-78 is not on the above Dandelion for that date.

I compared the following 3 tracks: “Let It Rock”, “Miss You” + “Just My Imagination” from the 7-6-78 show with the no label and Dandelion label and found the Dandelion versions to have much more gain, deeper bass and a significantly enhanced pleasing quality, fidelity-wise, for all of the above 3 tracks.

I recommend the versions of “Miss You” + “Love In Vain” from the 7-6-78 concert, performance-wise, as these are fantastic sounding tracks. The Stones are in a zone and deliver great period piece versions here.

This no label release does pack in 79:56 minutes on to one disc and the tracks do blend rather well from the 3 venues. I think that the fidelity of the Dandelion Box Set generally blows away the no label release, however. And the Dandelion Box Set also packs in on the average about 73 + minutes per disc as well. I found the no label release to sound a bit flat and bright. It did not present as an easy listen all things considered. There are a host of other better sounding releases from 1978 to better capture the Stones in all their glory and swagger.

CMR Music Store

If you liked this review, buy me a cup of joe. (Suggested: $3 a shot or $7.5 for a double)

Rolling Stones - Hound Dog: The Lost Handsome Girls (no label), 1.5 out of 5 based on 2 ratings

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.