The Allman Brothers Band – (You Don’t Like) Ramblin’ Jam Part 2 (Vague Records 051/052)

 (You Don’t Like) Ramblin’ Jam Part 2 (Vague Records 051/052)

RFK Stadium, Washington, DC – June 10th, 1973

Disc 1 (58:36):  Wasted Words, Done Somebody Wrong, One Way Out, Stormy Monday, Ramblin’ Man, Trouble No More, Jessica, Statesboro Blues

Disc 2 (54:46):  In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed, You Don’t Love Me, Les Brers In A Minor, Whipping Post

On June 10th, 1973 was the second show with The Grateful Dead and The Allman Brothers Band headlining in front of 100,000 fans in sweltering heat. Like the first show, it is sourced from a very good, clear soundboard recording.  It is well balanced for much of the show, but has some problems when the keyboards would dominate the mix and others, like during “You Don’t Love Me,” when the vocals disappear.

There are several minor cuts and most of “Whipping Post” is missing.  It was previously released on The Longest Day (LD-1/6), a six disc set which includes the complete afternoon including The Grateful Dead.  Vague is the first label to issue the show on its own when it came out with the Part 1 in 2002. 

Merl Saunders opened the show, followed by the Allman Brothers Band and finally The Grateful Dead.  The Allman Brothers shortened the set slightly by dropping “Midnight Rider,” “You Don’t Love Me,” “Soul Serenade,” “Southbound” and “Mountain Jam.”  With the complete twenty minute “Whipping Post, their set clocks in under three hours. 

The opening songs are the same sequence used for all of their shows in 1973.  The new song “Wasted Words” opens the show, followed by “Dong Somebody Wrong” and “One Way Out.” 

“Ramblin’ Man” is introduced as “a new song.”  “Trouble No More” segues into “Jessica,” an arrangement similar to the previous night.

“Les Brers In A Minor” has a very long drum and bass solo in the middle improvisation, and “Whipping Post” is the encore. 

(You Don’t Like) Ramblin’ Jam Part 2is packaged in a double slimline jewel case with various photographs from the era.  The song sequence is wrong by listing “Trouble No More” and “Jessica” too early in the set.  (Above is the corrected list).  This is a very good release from the Allman Brothers Band middle era. 

Share This Post

Like This Post


Related Posts


    Leave a Reply

    Thanks for submitting your comment!

    Recent Comments

    Editor Picks